Theatre News

Kevin Spacey Foundation's Artists of Choice winners announced

The awards recognise the best up and coming artists in the UK, US and Canada

This year's Artists of Choice award winners
This year's Artists of Choice award winners

The Kevin Spacey Foundation has announced the winners of this year's Artists of Choice awards.

The awards provide funding and mentoring to up-and-coming artists in the UK, US and Canada. Each winner receives £10,000 in funding, year round support from the foundation, and an industry mentor.

Industry experts who interviewed shortlisted applicants this year included actress Hayley Atwell, director Lyndsey Turner, playwright Roy Williams, choreographer Wayne McGregor, actor Killian Donnelly and singer Beverly Knight.

The winner of the UK Musical Theatre category was Wasted by Adam Lenson, Christopher Ash and Carl Miller. The rock musical drama tells the story of the Brontë siblings, with songs inspired by the sisters.

Andrew Whyment of Squint won the UK Theatre category with Fear and Loathing, which looks through the western world's increasingly fragmented landscape, inspired by material gathered on the US presidential election campaign trail.

The UK Dance category was won by Impermanence Dance Theatre with Baal, a piece that uses the body to illustrate Bertolt Brecht’s 1918 play.

Megan Devaney and Finbarr Crotty of Bear Print Films won the UK Film category with Out of his Misery, which follows an 8-year-old boy who mistakenly believes his parents are going to kill his senile grandfather and so tries to save the day.

Founder of the foundation Kevin Spacey said: "I am proud that we can usher these worthy artists in as KSF Artists of Choice, to help support the development of their projects and their creative career."