Leave to Remain at Lyric Hammersmith: first look at Tyrone Huntley, Billy Cullum and Kele Okereke in rehearsals

The production has its opening in January

The cast of Leave to Remain in rehearsals
The cast of Leave to Remain in rehearsals
© Helen Maybanks

The brand new play with songs Leave to Remain has its opening in January, and rehearsals are in full swing at Lyric Hammersmith.

Directed by Robby Graham, the piece is created by Matt Jones with songs by Kele Okereke, frontman of Bloc Party. It follows a young gay couple, Alex and Obi, whose lives are jeopardised when Alex's visa is called into question.

Starring in the show will be Tyrone Huntley (Jesus Christ Superstar), Billy Cullum (Matilda), Emma Amos (Sweet Bird of the South), Martin Fisher (The Trial of Jane Fonda), Aretha Ayeh (Miss Littlewood), Rakie Ayola (Harry Potter and the Cursed Child), Sandy Batchelor (Strangers on a Train), Arun Blair-Mangat (Kinky Boots), Joanne Murdock (King Lear) and Cornell S John (The Lion King).

The piece has design by Rebecca Brower with lighting by Anna Watson and casting by Will Burton.

Alongside the musical Okereke will release a 15-track album featuring songs from Leave to Remain. The album will be released on 24 January to coincide with the show's opening night.