WhatsOnStage Logo
Home link
Theatre News

School of Rock announces full casting

The principal cast has been found for Andrew Lloyd Webber and Julian Fellowes' rock musical

David Fynn and Florence Andrews
© Dan Wooller for WhatsOnStage

David Fynn is to star as the lead role Dewey Finn in School of Rock - The Musical in London.

Andrew Lloyd Webber, Julian Fellowes and Glenn Slater's musical opened on Broadway in 2015 and arrives in the West End in October.

Fynn will play the musician Dewey, who pretends to be his friend Ned Schneebly so he can get a job as a teacher. He then puts together a band with his pupils who enter into the Battle of the Bands.

Fynn's previous television credits include The Inbetweeners, Sherlock, Game of Thrones and Pete vs Life. He has performed with the RSC, at the National Theatre and at the Donmar Warehouse, in The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee.

Joining him on stage is Florence Andrews as Rosalie Mullins, Oliver Jackson as Ned Schneebly and Preeya Kalidas as Patty Di Marco.

The adult cast is completed by Gary Trainor as the alternate Dewey, and an ensemble of Jonathan Bourne, Nadeem Crowe, Michelle Francis, Rosanna Hyland, Cassandra McCowan, Joel Montague, Andy Rees, Cameron Sharp, Tasha Sheridan, Andrew Spillett and Lucy Vandi and swings, Charlotte Bradford, Jason Denton, Cellen Chugg Jones and Alfie Parker.

Andrew Lloyd Webber said: "As many people know I'm passionate about children engaging with music from an early age, and to that end I cannot wait for UK audiences to see the remarkably talented group of young actor musicians we have found for our production.  They're currently blowing the roof off our rehearsal rooms working with our wonderful cast of grown ups led by the hilarious David Fynn."

The three teams of thirteen young performers have also been cast. The role of Zack will be alternated by Tom Abisgold, Toby Lee, and Jake Slack.  The role of Freddy will be alternated by Bailey Cassell, Jude Harper-Wrobel and Noah Key. Giles Carden, Oscar Francisco and James Lawson will alternate the role of Lawrence. Selma Hansen, Lois Jenkins and Sophia Pettit will alternate the role of Katie. Isabelle Methven, Lucy Simmonds and Eva Trodd will alternate the role of Summer. Madeleine Haynes, Leah Levman and Natasha Raphael will alternate the role of Marcy.  Alternating the role of Shonelle are Jaydah Bell-Ricketts, Shoshana Ezequiel and Amelia Poggenpoel. Alternating the role of Sophia are Lola Moxom, Mia Roberts and Grace Schnieder. 

Alternating the role of Tomika are Nicole Dube, Amma Ris and Adithi Sujith. Jobe Hart, Joshua Vaughan and Logan Walmsley will alternate the role of Billy.  Presley Charman, Lucas Chow and Ben Dawson will alternate the role of Mason. The role of James will be alternated by Bradley Bissett, Denzel Eboji and Sonny Kirby. The role of Madison will be alternated by Zachary Dowlatshahi, Harry Egerton and Jacob Swann.

Buy tickets for School of Rock here

School of Rock - The Musical runs at the New London Theatre from 14 November to 12 February with previews from 24 October.