Theatre News

Peter Brook returns to National Theatre in new season

National Theatre announces further casting for Antony and Cleopatra

Fisayo Akinade, Peter Brook and Claudie Blakley
Fisayo Akinade, Peter Brook and Claudie Blakley

The National Theatre has announced its new season, including a return for Peter Brook to the theatre for the first time in 50 years.

Legendary director Brook will helm The Prisoner with his long-time collaborator Marie-Hélène Estienne. The piece is by the two directors and asks questions about justice, guilt and redemption and features a cast including Hiran Abeysekera, Hervé Goffings, Omar Silva, Kalieaswari Srinivasan and Donald Sumpter.

Further casting has been announced for Ralph Fiennes and Sophie Okonedo's Antony and Cleopatra, which plays at the Olivier from September. The cast includes Fisayo Akinade, Alexander Cobb, Tunji Kasim, Georgia Landers, Nicholas Le Prevost, Tim McMullan, Hannah Morrish, Shazia Nicholls, Gloria Obianyo, Nick Sampson, Katy Stephens and Sargon Yelda with further cast to be announced.

David Hare's new play I'm Not Running will feature a cast including Siân Brooke, Alex Hassell and Joshua McGuire. The piece runs at the Lyttelton Theatre, with previews from 2 October and looks at the history of a twenty year intimate friendship.

Nina Raine's new play Stories will run from 10 October at the Dorfman Theatre and looks at the fertilisation of an idea. Claudie Blakley will play the lead role of Anna, with further casting to be announced.

Antony Neilson will make his NT debut with The Tell-Tale Heart, based on the short story by Edgar Allan Poe. The piece follows a young playwright who rents an attic flat in Brighton hoping to break her writer's block. Tamara Lawrance, Imogen Doel and David Carlyle will make up the cast. It runs in preview from 5 December.

Elsewhere in the season, Nine Night by Natasha Gordon transfers to the West End following its sold-out run at the National. And further casting for the return of Follies has been announced.

The cast for the NT's return of War Horse for Armistice Day has also been announced. It will feature Marcus Adolphy, Adam Barlow, Peter Becker, Joëlle Brabban, Lucas Button, Jasper William Cartwright, Jo Castleton, Chris Charles, Jonathan Charles, Sebastian Charles, Anna Chessher, Nicky Cross, Thomas Dennis, Bob Fox, Max Gallagher, Chris Garner, Andrew Hodges, Lewis Howard, William Ilkley, Ben Ingles, Billy Irving, Elan James, Kiran Landa, Gwilym Lloyd, Jack Lord, Stephen Love, Toyin Omari-Kinch, Samuel Parker, Tom Quinn, Domonic Ramsden, Arinder Sadhra, Tom Stacy, Elizabeth Stretton, and Simon Victor.