Theatre News

New principals announced for Book of Mormon

Billy Harrigan Tighe and A.J. Holmes will take over from Gavin Creel and Jared Gertner

Billy Harrigan Tighe and A.J. Holmes
Billy Harrigan Tighe and A.J. Holmes

New casting has been announced for The Book of Mormon, with Billy Harrigan Tighe taking over from Gavin Creel as Elder Price and A.J. Holmes joining as Elder Cunningham, taking over from Jared Gertner.

The duo will join the WhatsOnStage Award-winning production from 28 July 2014, with other cast members including Alexia Khadime and Stephen Ashfield remaining in the show.

Both American actors, Billy Harrigan Tighe has credits including the Broadway productions of Pippin, La Cage Aux Folles and Hairspray as well as the US tour of Wicked. A.J. Holmes' credits include Elder Cunningham in all three North American companies of The Book of Mormon and Young Frankenstein (US tour).

The rest of the cast continues to include Kevin Harvey, Hugo Harold Harrison and Chris Jarman with Mark Anderson, Benjamin Brook, Daniel Clift, Christopher Copeland, Ashley Day, Keisha T Fraser, Patrick George, Nadine Higgin, Evan James, Aisha Jawando, Michael Kent, Sia Kiwa, Joshua Liburd, Daniel MacKinlay, David McMullan, Felix Mosse, Tanya Nicole-Edwards, Terel Nugent, David O’Reilly, Lucy St. Louis, Ashley Samuels, Rhys Taylor, Kayi Ushe, Michael Vinsen and Tosh Wanogho-Maud.

The Book of Mormon, which received its West End premiere last March, comes from South Park creators Trey Parker and Matt Stone, and Avenue Q co-creator Robert Lopez, and follows a pair of Mormon boys sent on a mission to a place that's a long way from Salt Lake City.

Featured In This Story