Theatre News

Mark Rylance and Bryn Terfel knighted in New Year's honours

Almeida artistic director Rupert Goold and actress Helen McCrory are also honoured

Mark Rylance will be knighted in the New Year's Honours list
Mark Rylance will be knighted in the New Year's Honours list
© Dan Wooller for WhatsOnStage

This year's New Year's honours list has been announced and includes knighthoods for Mark Rylance and Bryn Terfel.

Rylance, whose theatre credits include Jerusalem, Boeing Boeing and Farinelli and the King, was artistic director of Shakespeare's Globe for 10 years. This year he won an Oscar for his performance in Bridge of Spies, played the titular role in Steven Spielberg's silver screen adaptation of Roald Dahl's The BFG, and transferred his play Nice Fish to the Harold Pinter theatre.

Helen McCrory
Helen McCrory becomes an OBE
© Dan Wooller for WhatsOnStage

Opera singer Terfel, who starred in the ENO's production of Sweeney Todd alongside Emma Thompson in 2015, is recognised for services to music.

Other honours from the world of theatre include Almeida artistic director Rupert Goold, who gets a CBE for services to drama, and The Deep Blue Sea actress Helen McCrory, who gets an OBE.

Clive Rowe (Kiss Me, Kate, The Old Vic) receives an MBE while Tim Piggott-Smith (King Charles III, Almeida) receives an OBE.

Actress Patricia Routledge receives a DBE for services to theatre and charity. The actress won a
Tony Award in 1968 for her role in Darling of the Day, and an Olivier Award 20 years later for Candide.

In the year they reopened the Earlsfield venue, Tara Arts' artistic director Jatinder Verma is awarded an MBE for services to diversity in the Arts

Indhu Rubasingham, artistic director of Tricycle Theatre receives an MBE. In a recent interview with WhatsOnStage, Rubasingham said she "never had a plan", nor did she want to be an artistic director. She also spoke about working with Sharon D Clarke, who she worked with on A Wolf in Snakeskin Shoes, and receives an MBE.