Theatre News

Winner of 2014 Stephen Sondheim Society award announced

The Student Performer of the Year prize was awarded alongside the Stiles & Drewe Best New Song prize

Corrine Priest, a student from the London School of Musical Theatre, has won this year's Stephen Sondheim Society Student Performer of the Year competition.

The 20-year old triumphed with her rendition of Sondheim's "Don't Laugh" from Hotspot at the finals of the competition, which were held yesterday at the Garrick Theatre. She was presented with her award by actress Julia McKenzie, who is a patron of the Stephen Sondheim Society.

Judges of the prize, which saw 23-year old Callum McIntyre from Bristol Old Vic Theatre School coming in second place, included McKenzie as well as director and choreographer Jonathan Butterell, musical director Nigel Lilley, director David Lan and writer Edward Seckerson.

Also awarded at the event was the Stiles & Drewe Best New Song Prize, which was won by 24-year old Tamar Broadbent. The award is given to writers of new musical songs, and Broadbent had two in the finals – "The Procrastination Song" and "Library Boy".

Judges for the Best New Song Prize were musical theatre duo George Stiles and Antony Drewe, and Broadway composers Scott Alan and Andrew Lippa.

The ceremony was hosted by musical theatre stars David Bedella, who is currently in In the Heights at the Southwark Playhouse, and Caroline Sheen (Les Miserables, Mary Poppins).