WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

Votes cast for 2012 WOS Awards smash 55,000 mark, close at midnight tomorrow

WhatsOnStage logo
The number of votes in the 2012 Whatsonstage.com Awards has passed the 55,000 mark (56,015 to be precise), just hours before voting closes at midnight on 31 January 2012.

Whatsonstage.com had already announced that voting was on track to smash last year's record total of 46,000, and it's not too late to cast your own votes across our 26 Awards categories.

Voting has been open since the nominations were announced on 2 December 2011. The results of the 2012 Whatsonstage.com Awards will be announced during our Winners' Concert, produced by Stuart Piper and Jason Haigh-Ellery on behalf of Whatsonstage.com, at the West End's Prince of Wales Theatre on 19 February.

Previous concert presenters have included James Corden, Sheridan Smith, Christopher Biggins, Miranda Hart and Mel Giedroyc - this year's line up will be announced shortly.

The Awards from the UK's leading theatre website are the only UK event for the theatre industry voted for purely by the ticket-buying public. More than 11,000 theatregoers cast nominations for their favourite performances and productions across 26 different award categories.

In the battle of the big musicals, screen-to-stager Ghost the Musical goes head-to-head with the RSC's musical adaptation of Matilda, which opened in the West End after a sell-out season at Stratford-upon-Avon, with both grabbing nine nominations each.

Other shows in the running include Crazy for You, Betty Blue Eyes (with six apiece), Rock of Ages, Shrek the Musical (with five apiece) and Andrew Lloyd Webber's production of The Wizard of Oz (with four). Among the plays, the Donmar Warehouse’s revival of Anna Christie and the National’s One Man, Two Guvnors boast five nominations each.

The Whatsonstage.com Awards are held in association with our 2012 presentation rights sponsor Time Out London in aid of this year’s adopted charity, Stage One, which is dedicated to developing the theatre producers of the future.


Thanks to our sponsors


Tagged in this Story