Theatre News

Sweat West End cast announced with Clare Perkins and Martha Plimpton reprising roles

It has been confirmed that Clare Perkins will reprise her role alongside Martha Plimpton in the West End transfer

Leanne Best (Jessie), Martha Plimpton (Tracey), Clare Perkins  (Cynthia) in Sweat
Leanne Best (Jessie), Martha Plimpton (Tracey), Clare Perkins (Cynthia) in Sweat
© Johan Persson

Casting has been announced for the upcoming West End transfer of Sweat.

Leanne Best (Jessie), Osy Ikhile (Chris), Wil Johnson (Brucie), Stuart McQuarrie (Stan), Clare Perkins (Cynthia), Sule Rimi (Evan) and Sebastian Viveros (Oscar) all join Martha Plimpton who had already been confirmed as returning to the piece.

Lynn Nottage's Pulitzer Prize-winning play opened at the Donmar Warehouse at the end of last year. It transfers to the Gielgud Theatre from Friday 7 June for 50 performances. The show has been nominated for Best New Play in the 2019 Olivier Awards.

Sweat was written after Nottage spent a significant amount of time in Reading, Pennsylvania, one of the poorest cities in the US. It centres around the friendships of factory workers and explores relationships, resentments and fears of a divided community.

The show is directed by Lynette Linton and has designs from Frankie Bradshaw, lighting from Oliver Fenwick, sound design and composition from George Dennis, associate direction from Tom Bellerby, movement from Polly Bennett, video design from Gino Ricardo Green and fight direction from Kate Waters.