Theatre News

Operation Mincemeat London cast recording release date and details announced 

God, that’s brilliant!

The artwork for Operation Mincemeat Operation Mincemeat

Sony Music has announced that the full original London cast recording of Operation Mincemeat – A New Musical will be released next month.

Operation Mincemeat is a fast-paced true story of a well-dressed corpse that wrong-footed Hitler in 1943. It started previewing at the West End’s Fortune Theatre last Friday. The limited 8-week run will begin on 9 May, following the hugely successful 33-year run of The Woman In Black.

Produced by Grammy Award winning and Tony, Emmy, Olivier award nominated Steve Sidwell, the album features recordings from the 2023 Off-West End award-winning cast. The cast includes David Cumming, Claire-Marie Hall, Natasha Hodgson, Jak Malone and Zoë Roberts, alongside an in-house band.

The director is Robert Hastie, supported by Olivier Award nominated Jenny Arnold, who continues as choreographer. Also on the creative team are set and costume designer 2023 Olivier Award nominated Ben Stones, lighting designer Tony Award, six-time Olivier Award and Bafta Award winning Mark Henderson, sound designer Olivier Award winning Mike Walker, orchestrator and vocal arranger Grammy Award winning and award nominated Steve Sidwell and associate director Georgie Staight.

Operation Mincemeat is written and composed by Cumming, Felix Hagan, Hodgson and Roberts, who form SpitLip. The show is presented in the West End by Avalon (in association with SpitLip), who have supported the show since the Southwark Playhouse runs. The show was commissioned by New Diorama Theatre, co-commissioned by the Lowry, and supported by the Rhinebeck Writers Retreat with additional support from Avalon.

Released on Friday 12 May 2023, the album will be available on CD, vinyl, streaming, and digital platforms and is currently available for pre-order. 

Alongside the album release, the new track “Sail On, Boys” has been launched today. Fans were given the opportunity to vote for their four favourite songs, which will be released ahead of the album. “Sail On, Boys” is the second song to be released, following the first track “God That’s Brilliant”. Two additional fan favourites, “All the Ladies” and “Das Übermensch”, will be released soon.

The track listing is as follows: 

  1. Born To Lead
  2. God That’s Brilliant
  3. Dead in the Water
  4. All the Ladies
  5. The Pitch
  6. Making a Man
  7. Dear Bill
  8. Sail on, Boys
  9. Just for Tonight
  10. Das Ubermensch 
  11. Bevan’s Update
  12. The Ballad of Willie Watkins
  13. Spilsbury Reprise 
  14. Useful
  15. Act as If
  16. Did We Do It?
  17. A Glitzy Finale