Theatre News

Lin Manuel-Miranda and Cate Blanchett announced as co-hosts of Evening Standard Awards

The awards will be presented by Phoebe Waller-Bridge in December

Lin Manuel Miranda, Phoebe Waller Bridge and Cate Blanchett
Lin Manuel Miranda, Phoebe Waller Bridge and Cate Blanchett
© Dan Wooller

Cate Blanchett and Lin-Manuel Miranda are to co-host the Evening Standard Awards this year.

They join regular hosts Evening Standard proprietor Evgeny Lebedev and Vogue editor Anna Wintour.

Taking place on 3 December, Phoebe Waller-Bridge will also present the 63rd awards. The venue is yet to be announced.

The advisory panel this year is made up of Daily Mail‘s Baz Bamigboye, London Evening Standard‘s chief theatre critic, Henry Hitchings; Guardian culture writer and broadcaster, Mark Lawson; WhatsOnStage's Sarah Crompton and Matt Wolf, london theatre critic of the International New York Times; alongside the new London Evening Standard‘s editor, George Osborne.

New productions and performances on the London stage between 17 October 2016 and 19 October 2017 are eligible for the awards.

The shortlist for the 63rd Evening Standard Awards will be announced in November. Categories include Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Director, Most Promising Playwright and Emerging Talent Award.