Theatre News

Elaine Paige, Charlie Stemp and Al Murray among winners of Great British Pantomime Awards

The annual awards were announced at a ceremony at the New Wimbledon Theatre last night

Charlie Stemp, Al Murray and Elaine Paige
Charlie Stemp, Al Murray and Elaine Paige
© Dan Wooller for WhatsOnStage

The winners of this year's Great British Pantomime Awards have been announced… oh yes they have.

Panto season is way behind us but that didn't stop the great and good of neverland turning out to celebrate the much-loved British tradition.

Big winners on the night included Dick Whittington's Elaine Paige (Best Female Baddie) and Charlie Stemp (Best Lead Male). Al Murray won Best Newcomer for his performance in Jack and the Beanstalk at New Wimbledon Theatre, and The Chuckle Brothers won Best Double Act for Snow White at Mayflower Southampton.

QDOS' Nick Thomas and veteran entertainer Roy Hudd were given the Lifetime Achievement award.

Full list of winners

Leading Male – Charlie Stemp, Dick Whittington, London Palladium
Leading Female – Faith Omole, Jack and the Beanstalk, Lyric Hammersmith
Female Baddie – Elaine Paige, Dick Whittington, London Palladium
Male Baddie – Lawrence Boothman, Robin Hood, Loughborough Town Hall
Best Newcomer – Al Murray, Jack and the Beanstalk, New Wimbledon Theatre
Best EnsemblePeter Pan, The Hexagon, Reading
Best Double Act – The Chuckle Brothers, Snow White, Mayflower Southampton
Best Speciality Act – The Timbuktu Tumblers, Peter Pan, Newcastle Theatre Royal
Best Ugly Sisters – Ben Stock and Neal Wright, Cinderella, Milton Keynes Theatre
Best Fairy – Elaine C Smith, Sleeping Beauty, Glasgow Kings Theatre
Best Supporting Male* – Richard David Caine, Snow White, The Pavilion Worthing
Best Dame – Ben Roddy, Peter Pan, Marlowe Theatre Canterbury
Best Comic – Danny Adams, Peter Pan, Theatre Royal Newcastle
Pantomime of the Year 1500+ – Dick Whittington, London Palladium
Best Pantomime 750 – 1500 SeatsMother Goose, Sheffield Lyceum
Best Pantomime under 750 SeatsJack and the Beanstalk, Salisbury Playhouse
Best Director – Chris Nelson, Snow White, Waterside Aylesbury
Best Choreography – Twist and Pulse, Jack and the Beanstalk, Gordon Craig Theatre, Stevenage
Best Lighting – Ben Cracknell, Cinderella, Birmingham Hippodrome
Best Costume Design – Paul Shriek, The Lambton Worm, The Customs House
Best Song Sheet – Matt Slack, Cinderella, Birmingham Hippodrome
Musical Supervision – Robert Hyman and Trish Cooke, Rapunzel, Theatre Royal Stratford East
Best Staging & Set – Morgan Brind, Beauty and the Beast, Derby Arena
Best Script – Alan McHugh and David McGillivray, Dick Whittington, London Palladium
Special Effects – Flying Bus, Twins FX, Dick Whittington, London Palladium
Lifetime Achievement – Nick Thomas and Roy Hudd

*According to the awards organisers, Best Fairy is in lieu of a Best Supporting Female category.