WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

Daniel Radcliffe, Ian McKellen, Chris O'Dowd and more receive Drama Desk Award nominations

There is a strong British showing in the shorlists for the 59th Annual Drama Desk Awards

WhatsOnStage logo
Daniel Radcliffe is nominated for Outstanding Actor in a Play
© Dan Wooller

The nominations have been announced today for the 59th Annual Drama Desk Awards, with a strong UK showing in the shortlists.

Three Brits have been shortlisted for Outstanding Actor in a Play, with Ian McKellen up for his performance in Harold Pinter's No Man's Land, Chris O'Dowd for his portrayal of Lennie in Of Mice and Men and Daniel Radcliffe for Michael Grandage's The Cripple of Inishmaan.

Grandage's WhatsOnStage Award-winning production is also up for Outstanding Revival of a Play, alongside Shakespeare's Globe's all-male Twelfth Night. Tim Carroll's production has also seen him nominated for Outstanding Director of a Play, as well as costume designer Jenny Tiramani up for a gong.

Two British actresses are nominated; Harriet Walter for Outstanding Actress in a Play for her performance of Brutus in the Donmar Warehouse's all-female Julius Caesar; and Sophie Okonedo, shortlisted for Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play for A Raisin in the Sun.

Creatives shortlisted include Conor McPherson, whose Night Alive is up for Outstanding Play, as well as choreographer Steven Hoggett (Rocky), set designer Ian MacNeil (A Doll's House), lighting designer Peter Mumford (King Lear), composer Rob Kearns (The Life and Sort of Death of Eric Argyle) and sound designer Christopher Shutt (Love and Information).

Produced by WhatsOnStage's owners TheaterMania, the Drama Desk Awards are the only major New York theatre honours for which productions on Broadway, Off-Broadway and Off-Off Broadway compete against each other in the same category.

Away from this side of the pond, shows with the most nominations include A Gentleman's Guide to Love & Murder with 12, The Bridges of Madison County with nine, Fun Home with eight and Aladdin and Rocky with seven each.

The awards will be presented in a ceremony hosted by Laura Benanti at the Town Hall on 1 June 2014.

For a full list of nominations, visit TheaterMania.