WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

WOS Radio: Interviews with Olivier Award Winners

WhatsOnStage logo

In a special Whatsonstage.com Radio news podcast, Roger Foss reports live from this week’s 32nd annual Laurence Olivier Awards and talks exclusively to winners including Kristin Scott Thomas (Best Actress for The Seagull), Michael Ball (Best Actor in a Musical for Hairspray), Leanne Jones (Best Actress in a Musical for Hairspray - and her proud father!), Rupert Goold (Best Director for Macbeth), Tom Hiddleston (Best Newcomer in a Play for Cymbeline), Rae Smith (Best Set Design for War Horse), Paul Arditti (Best Sound Design for Saint Joan) and Special Award winner Andrew Lloyd Webber, who controversially suggests that it's time to think about replacing some of the West End's Victorian theatres.

There are also interviews with playwright Bola Agbaje (who collected Outstanding Achievement in an Affiliate Theatre for the premiere of her debut play Gone Too Far), Complicite’s Judith Dimant and actress Saskia Reeves (who accepted the Best New Play award for A Disappearing Number on behalf of Simon McBurney), actress Pauline Malefane and director Mark Dornford-May (who accepted the Best Musical Revival award for The Magic Flute) and award presenter Jeff Goldblum, currently starring in Speed-the-Plow at the Old Vic.

Our further reporting on this year’s Laurence Olivier Awards includes: the full list of results, analysis, photo galleries, and acceptance speech highlights, all of which can be accessed via our dedicated Oliviers page.

Thanks for listening!


Tagged in this Story