WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

Casting announced for Open Air Theatre's Ragtime & Dream

Casting has been announced for the Open Air Theatre's Olympic repertory season of A Midsummer Night's Dream and Ragtime, which runs from 18 May to 5 September 2012.

Tamsin Carroll, Harry Hepple, George Bukhari, David Birrell and Christopher Colquhoun will lead the casts of 26 actors for each production, 20 of whom will appear in both shows.

Tamsin Carroll, who recently played Nancy in Oliver! at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane, plays Titania in A Midsummer Night's Dream and Emma Goldman Ragtime.

David Birrell, whose recent credits include the Sheffield Theatre revival of Company and the Donmar Warehouse production of Passion, plays Thesues (Dream) and Father (Ragtime).

Harry Hepple, who recently played the title role in Pippin at the Menier Chocolate Factory, plays Qunice (Dream) and Younger Brother (Ragtime).

Following his performance as Piggy in the Open Air Theatre’s production of Lord of the Flies, George Bukhari returns to play Bottom (Dream). And Christopher Colquhoun, best known for his on-screen character Simon Kaminski in Casualty and Holby City, plays Oberon (Dream).

Open Air artistic director Timothy Sheader, who is directing Ragtime (Matthew Dunster will helm Dream) said: “What has proved exciting at Regent’s Park over the past few years are productions that embrace scale, both physically and in their narrative. The titles for 2012, each with their own particular ambition, are united in their exploration of space, light and the changing atmosphere of theatre in the open air.”

Full cast lists

The cast for Ragtime the Musical includes: Stephane Anelli (Harry Houdini), Rolan Bell (Coalhouse Walker, Jr), David Birrell (Father), Katie Brayben (Evelyn Nesbit), Tamsin Carroll (Emma Goldman), Rosalie Craig (Mother), Harry Hepple (Younger Brother), Claudia Kariuki (Sarah), Joshua Lacey (Willie Conklin), John Marquez (Tateh), Carl Sanderson (Henry Ford), Jo Servi (Grandfather). Jamal Andreas, Mireia Mambo Bekele, Louise Bowden, Anthony Clegg, Hayley Gallivan, Shimi Goodman, Waylon Jacobs, Kurt Kansley, Sandra Marvin, Sophia Nomvete, Corinna Powlesland, Caroline Rovina, Lucy St Louis and Tom Woods form the ensemble for the production.

The cast for A Midsummer Night’s Dream includes: Rolan Bell (Snug), Kingsley Ben Adir (Demetrius), David Birrell (Theseus), Katie Brayben (Hippolyta), Louise Bowden (Philostrate), George Bukhari (Bottom), Tamsin Carroll (Titania), Anthony Clegg (Egeus), Christopher Colquhoun (Oberon), Hayley Gallivan (Hermia), Harry Hepple (Quince), Oliver Johnstone (Puck), Rebecca Oldfield (Helena), Tom Padley (Lysander). The ensemble for the production is made up of Jamal Andreas, Stephane Anelli, Mireia Mambo Bekele, Shimi Goodman, Waylon Jacobs, Kurt Kansley, Joshua Lacey, Sandra Marvin, Sophia Nomvete, Caroline Rovina, Carl Sanderson and Jo Servi.


Tagged in this Story