About This Show

Margaret Atwood’s exuberant imagination and disruptive wit in combination with her feminist and environmentalist perspective have assured her reputation over the last half a century as one of our greatest living writers. Known for her depiction of dystopian speculative futures in which, famously, nothing is invented that is not already taking place somewhere in the world, Atwood holds a mirror up to life, warning us of where we are headed and asking, ‘Who’s got the will to stop us?’ Wayne McGregor brings Atwood’s monumental trilogy of novels (Oryx and Crake, The Year of the Flood and MaddAddam) to the stage. Themes of extinction and invention, hubris and humanity, love and loss, are spliced together with aspects of Atwood’s non-fiction writings and activist voice in this exhilarating exploration of life beyond societal collapse.

Show Details

Dates: First Preview: 14 November 2024 Final Performance: 30 November 2024
Location: Royal Opera House, West End

Covent Garden,

West End,


View Map