Theatre News

New School of Rock West End cast announced

The cast will have their first performances on 22 August

Craig Gallivan and the cast of School of Rock
Craig Gallivan and the cast of School of Rock
© Tristram Kenton

The third year cast of the West End production of School of Rock at the Gillian Lynne Theatre has been announced.

Lloyd Webber, Julian Fellowes and Glenn Slater's musical opened on Broadway in 2015 and transferred to the West End in 2016. Based on the 2003 film starring Jack Black, the musical tells the story of Dewey, a musician who pretends to be his friend so he can get a job as a teacher. He then puts together a band with his pupils who enter into the Battle of the Bands.

Craig Gallivan (Footballers' Wives) will lead the cast from 22 August in the role of Finn with Laura Tebbutt as Rosalie Mullins, Alan Pearson as Ned Schneebly, Michelle Francis as Patty DiMarco and Jake Sharp who will play Dewey Finn at certain performances.

The remaining adult cast will be composed of John Addison, Nick Butcher, Rob Falconer, Martina Isibor, Claudia Kariuki, Jessica Louise Parkinson, Richard Morse, Andy Rees, Hannah Stratton, Alex Tomkins and James Wolstenholme with swings Paul Kemble, Jessica Kirton, Billy Mitchell, Catherine Morris and Andy Prosser.

There will be three teams of twelve kids (that make up Dewey's band), who will perform in the show from the same date. The kids cast are as follows:

Albert Atack (ten years old from Sheffield), Amos Mayland (ten years old from Cornwall) and Oscar Rice (eleven years old from London) who will play Zack; Jamal Ahmed (twelve years old from Surrey), Jasper Bew (eleven years old from London) and Nayan Gupta (ten years old from Sheffield) who will play Freddy; Noah Gupta-Wright (twelve years old from London), Alfie Humphreys (eleven years old from Bedfordshire) and Tom Kochalski (twelve years old from South Wales) who will play Lawrence.

Carys John (ten years old from Wiltshire), Amelie Leatherland (twelve years old from Brighton) and Ellie Wilcox (eleven years old from Essex) will play Katie; Jack Gale (eleven years old from Hertfordshire), Jakub Kopec (eleven years old from Surrey) and Jensen York (twelve years old from Warwickshire) will play Billy.

Amelie Green (eleven years old from London), Anya Hewett (ten years old from County Durham) and Éibhleann Rose McCormack (ten years old from West Sussex) will play Summer; Kaylah Black (twelve years old from London), Sara Sheen (twelve years old from Manchester) and Charis Claresta Tetteh (twelve years old from Essex) will play Tomika; Adam Djazel (ten years old from London), Harley Gallacher (twelve years old from Kent) and Stanley Voss (eleven years old from Buckinghamshire) will play James.

Calypso Bailey (twelve years old from Essex), Ellie Kit Jones (ten years old from London) and Shani Roberts (ten years old from Essex) will play Marcy; Harry Linacre Brown (ten years old from London), Charlie Gallacher (twelve years old from Kent) and Samuelle John-Brown (twelve years old from Buckinghamshire) will play Mason; Jasmine Brightmore (eleven years old from London), Lia Summer Higgs (eleven years old from Essex) and Shaye Temple (eleven years old from London) will play Shonelle; Zoe Coleman (twelve years old from London), Aoife Connelly (ten years old from Essex) and Frankie-Mae Garner (eleven years old also from Essex) will play Sophie.

The production has also announced the release of a further 350,000 tickets for this hit West End production, now booking to 20 October 2019.

School of Rock is directed by Laurence Connor with choreography by JoAnn M Hunter, set and costume designs by Anna Louizos, lighting design by Natasha Katz, sound design by Mick Potter, music supervision by John Rigby with Matt Smith as musical director.