WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

WOS Awards Concert takes place this Sunday, extra tickets released

WhatsOnStage logo
The winners of the 2012 Whatsonstage.com Awards - the only major UK theatre awards to be voted for entirely by the theatregoing public - will be announced on Sunday (19 February) during a starry Concert at the Prince of Wales Theatre.

The concert will be hosted for the fourth time by Sheridan Smith, who will be joined by comedians Alan Davies and Jenny Eclair. West End legend (and previous winner) Michael Ball will speak on behalf of this year’s adopted charity, Stage One.

For the first time the speeches and press room interviews will be streamed live thanks to our video partner Kinura. But if you want to be there in person you’ll have to move fast; we've had a handful of terrific seats returned from our guest seat allocation and have now put these back on public sale.

If you’d like to purchase these tickets, please contact the Prince of Wales box office QUICKLY on 0844 482 5133 or book online at www.whatsonstage.com/concert.

If any would-be Awards-goers miss out on those, they can also come to the theatre on Sunday to queue for day returns - there are always a few so it is definitely worth a try - which can be purchased from the box office from 4pm.

Among the acts due to perform on the night are big names and big numbers from nominated productions including The Wizard of Oz, Ghost the Musical, Crazy for You, Rock of Ages and Shrek the Musical as well as highlights from recent Broadway hits including Catch Me If You Can and The Book of Mormon.

And closing the show are Queen’s Brian May and Best Solo Performance nominee Kerry Ellis, who will perform “Defying Gravity” from one of the Whatsonstage.com Awards most perennially popular shows, Wicked.

Video coverage will commence from 7pm on Sunday 19 February and will be carried exclusively on the Whatsonstage.com and www.timeout.com/london websites. You can also follow the action on Twitter by using the hashtag #wosawards

For those who'll be joining us at the Prince of Wales Theatre, please note that the dress code is smart.

Top (l-r): Dean Chisnall, Sophie Evans, Tiffany Graves. Middle: Melanie La Barrie, Iwan Lewis, Jodie Jacobs. Bottom: Ben Goddard, Bill Ward, Zizi Strallen.

Among the nominees and VIP guests expected to attend on Sunday are: Adam Cork, Alecky Blythe, Alex Gaumond, Andrew Langtree, Ann Emery, April de Angelis, Bertie Carvel, Bruce Joel Rubin, Bryony Hannah, Claire Moore, Clare Burt, Clare Lams, Danielle Hope, Danny Boyle, David Hayman, Doon Mackichan, Eve Best, Finbar Lynch, Gillian Slovo, Hal Fowler, Harriet Thorpe, Harry Hadden-Paton, Howard Ward, James Corden, Johnny Flynn, Josie Rourke, Kara Tointon, Kate Fleetwood, Kate Prince, Kimberley Walsh, Kyle Soller, Lauren Ward, Mark Evans, Matthew Warchus, Michael Boyd, Michael Shaeffer, Niamh Cusack, Nick Holder, Nicola Sloane, Nigel Harman, Oliver Chris, Oliver Tompsett, Paul Kaye, Paul Thornley, Peter Darling, Phoebe Fox, Rebecca Night, Reece Shearsmith, Richard Bean, Richard Fleeshman, Rob Howell, Rufus Norris, Rupert Goold, Samantha Spiro, Sarah Lancashire, Shayne Ward, Simon Lipkin, Siobhan Dillon, Stephanie Street, Susie McKenna, Tamsin Greig, Trevor Nunn and Vanessa Redgrave.

Over 70,000 people took part in the voting process this year – a major new record representing a 55% increase on last year’s turnout.

For the full list of nominees, and further information about the Whatsonstage.com Awards, visit www.whatsonstage.com/awards


Tagged in this Story