WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

Hytner & Starr join Panter & Squire at top of Stage 100 list

WhatsOnStage logo

Howard Panter and Rosemary Squire, the husband-and-wife team at the helm of Ambassador Theatre Group (ATG), have topped The Stage newspaper's list of the 100 most influential people in UK theatre for the fourth year running.

Panter and Squire, who are closing in on Andrew Lloyd Webber's record of six number one placings, are joined in the top spot this year by Nicholas Hytner and Nick Starr, artistic director and chief executive of the National Theatre.

Alistair Smith, deputy editor of The Stage and editor of The Stage 100, said: "The influence of the subsidised sector has grown considerably over the lifetime of The Stage 100 and the National’s listing alongside the commercial sector’s super-power, ATG, reflects not only the NT's stature but also the stature of subsidised theatre itself, which now stands shoulder to shoulder with the commercial sector."

Third place on the list, which is now in its 17th year, is taken jointly by Cultural Olympiad director Ruth Mackenzie and Opening Ceremony director Danny Boyle, reflecting the success of performing arts at the London 2012 Olympics.

Elsewhere, Delfont Mackintosh’s Cameron Mackintosh and Nick Allott retain fourth spot while Michael Boyd and Vikki Heywood, who recently stepped down as artistic director and chief executive of the RSC, move down two places to fifth. Andrew Lloyd Webber has also moved down the list this year, from fourth to sixth.

Newcomers to the top 20 include actor Mark Rylance, who last year returned to Shakespeare’s Globe to star in Richard III and Twelfth Night, the Globe’s current artistic director and chief executive Dominic Dromgoole and Neil Constable, and Sheffield Theatres’ Daniel Evans and Dan Bates.

The full top 20 is as follows (last year’s position):

1. Howard Panter/Rosemary Squire - Ambassador Theatre Group (1) & Nicholas Hytner/Nick Starr – National Theatre (2)
3. Ruth Mackenzie/Danny Boyle – Cultural Olympiad (8)
4. Cameron Mackintosh/Nick Allott – Cameron Mackintosh Ltd, Delfont Mackintosh (4)
5. Michael Boyd/Vikki Heywood – RSC (3)
6. Andrew Lloyd Webber – Really Useful Group (4)
7. Michael Grandage/James Bierman – Michael Grandage Company (7)
8. Nica Burns/Max Weitzenhoffer – Nimax Theatres (11)
9. Jonathan Church/Alan Finch – Chichester Festival Theatre (6)
10. Dominic Cooke – Royal Court Theatre (9)
11. Sonia Friedman – Sonia Friedman Productions (13)
12. Bill Kenwright – Bill Kenwright Ltd (12)
13. Nick Thomas – Qdos Entertainment (10)
14. Dominic Dromgoole/Neil Constable – Shakespeare’s Globe
15. David Lan – Young Vic (16)
16. Tony Hall – Royal Opera House (15)
17. Julian Bird – Society of London Theatre, Theatrical Management Association (18)
18. Daniel Evans/Dan Bates – Sheffield Theatres
19. Josie Rourke – Donmar Warehouse (17)
20. Mark Rylance - actor

Also announced by The Stage today, presented for the third time, are The Stage 100 Awards. Recognising the work of entire organisations and the teams behind them, instead of individuals, the awards will be presented at The Stage’s New Year Party at the Theatre Royal Drury Lane on 25 January.

The winners are:

- London Theatre of the Year: Shakespeare’s Globe
- Regional Theatre of the Year: Sheffield Theatres
- Fringe Theatre of the Year: Union Theatre, Southwark
- Producer of the Year: A Play, a Pie and a Pint
- School of the Year: ALRA North
- Unsung Heroes: Anne McNulty & Chris Isherman



Tagged in this Story