Theatre News

Mark Strong and Helen McCrory win at Critics' Circle Awards

This year’s critics’ picks also included ”Gypsy” and ”King Charles III”

Phoebe Fox, Mark Strong and Nicola Walker
Mark Strong with Phoebe Fox and Nicola Walker in A View From the Bridge
© Jan Versweyveld

Actors Mark Strong and Helen McCrory, and Mike Bartlett's 'future history play' King Charles III are among the winners of this year's Critics' Circle Theatre Awards.

The Young Vic revival of A View from the Bridge scooped two awards, one for Strong's performance as Eddie Carbone – which he will reprise when the production transfers to the West End next month – and the other for director Ivo van Hove.

Other winners, chosen by a ballot of Critics' Circle members, include Jonathan Kent's Chichester revival of Gypsy starring Imelda Staunton, and Antony Sher for his performance as Falstaff in the RSC's Henry IV Parts I & II.

Best Designer was awarded jointly to Golem's Paul Barritt and The Nether's Es Devlin, while Barney Norris scooped Most Promising Playwright for Visitors.

The winners were announced during a ceremony held at the Prince of Wales Theatre earlier today (27 January 2015).

Check back soon for further coverage from the Critics' Circle Theatre Awards

Helen McCrory as Medea
Helen McCrory as Medea
© Richard Hubert Smith

Best New Play
King Charles III by Mike Bartlett (Almeida and Wyndham's Theatre)

The Peter Hepple Award for Best Musical
Gypsy (Chichester Festival Theatre, transferring to Savoy Theatre)

Best Actor
Mark Strong in A View from the Bridge (Young Vic, transferring to Wyndham's)

Best Actress
Helen McCrory in Medea (National Theatre)

The John and Wendy Trewin Award for Best Shakespearean Performance
Antony Sher in
Henry IV Parts I & II (RSC)

Best Director
Ivo van Hove for A View from the Bridge (Young Vic, transferring to Wyndham's)

Best Designer (awarded jointly)
Paul Barritt for Golem (Young Vic)
& Es Devlin for The Nether (Royal Court, transferring to the Duke of York's)

Most Promising Playwright
Barney Norris for Visitors (Arcola and Bush)

The Jack Tinker Award for Most Promising Newcomer
Patsy Ferran for Blithe Spirit (Gielgud Theatre) and Treasure Island (National Theatre)

Agree or disagree with the critics? Vote in the WhatsOnStage Awards until 31 January