Theatre News

Full cast announced for Donmar's The Vote

MyAnna Buring and Gerard Horan are among the new cast members

MyAnna Buring
MyAnna Buring
© Dan Wooller

Full casting has been announced for The Vote, James Graham's upcoming election drama at the Donmar Warehouse.

As previously announced the ensemble cast includes Judi Dench, Mark Gatiss and Catherine Tate.

Joining them will be: Eddie Arnold, MyAnna Buring, Stavros Demetraki, Tommy French, Joanna Griffin, Gerard Horan, Chukwudi Iwuji, Stephen Kennedy, Beverley Longhurst, Andrew McDonald, Bhasker Patel, Penny Ryder and Michael Shaeffer.

Following their collaboration on Privacy, Graham and Donmar artistic director Josie Rourke reunite for The Vote, which is set in a fictional polling station, during the final 90 minutes of voting on election night.

It opens on 24 April 2015 and will be broadcast live on More4 on election night, 7 May.

Alongside The Vote, the Donmar is launching My Mark, a "documentary theatre project" that will track "a generation of the British electorate from childhood to their first vote".

A team led by director Robert Hastie and writer/actress Michelle Terry have visited over 15 primary schools in the UK to record the voices and opinions of over a hundred children who will be first time voters in 2025.