WhatsOnStage Logo

First look: Let It Shine winners in rehearsals for The Band

Tim Firth's new musical, with music from Take That, opens for previews this week

WhatsOnStage logo

Rehearsal photos for Tim Firth's new musical The Band show the cast hard at work ahead of the opening of the show, which begins previews on 8 September.

Starring the winners of BBC's Let it Shine, AJ Bentley, Nick Carsberg, Curtis T Johns, Yazdan Qafouri and Sario Solomon, the musical, featuring the music of Take That, is directed by Kim Gavin and Jack Ryder. Gavin also provides choreography for the production.

After the offical opening and run at Manchester Opera House from 26 September, the show will tour venues across the UK 2018

Set across the last 25 years, the show charts the lives of five 16 year-olds, united by their obsession with their favourite boyband and their desire to meet their heroes. It also stars Rachel Lumberg, Alison Fitzjohn, Emily Joyce, Jayne McKenna, Faye Christall, Katy Clayton, Rachelle Diedericks, Sarah Kate Howarth, Lauren Jacobs, Martin Miller and Andy Williams.

The Band runs at Manchester Opera House with previews from 8 September, before commencing a UK tour.

Buy tickets for The Band