WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

Alfie Boe and Colm Wilkinson to star in 30th anniversary Les Miserables gala

The current cast will be joined by original cast members and special guests

WhatsOnStage logo
Alfie Boe as Jean Valjean in 2011
© Dan Wooller for WhatsOnStage

Cameron Mackintosh has today announced plans for a gala performance to celebrate the 30th Anniversary of Les Miserables.

The gala performance will take place on Thursday 8 October 2015 at the Queen's Theatre and will feature original company members and special guests joining the current casts. These include Colm Wilkinson, Roger Allam, Frances Ruffelle, Alfie Boe, John Owen-Jones and Gerónimo Rauch.

450 tickets for this performance will be available to the fans through a mobile lottery and a charity auction to raise money for the Save the Children Syria Children's Appeal.

Cameron Mackintosh said today:

"Having already had so many requests to attend this very special anniversary performance, we know we could sell this performance many times over. We are limited by the capacity of the Queen's Theatre and the number of invited guests who have been involved over the 30 year history, but we wanted to make over 40% of the house available to fans. The only fair way we can get these tickets out to the fans is through a lottery. Everyone involved in Les Misérables also wanted to take the opportunity to raise as much money as they can through the distribution of tickets towards the Save the Children Syria Children's Appeal."

Save the Children said:

"Save the Children is delighted that our Syria Children's Appeal will benefit from this 30 year celebration of Les Misérables. This poignant tale of struggle, hope and dreams reflects the human spirit that we see in Syrian families that we work with day in day out."

The first English production, adapted and directed by Trevor Nunn and John Caird and produced by Mackintosh, opened on 8 October 1985 at the Barbican Arts Centre, London.

The original London cast included Colm Wilkinson (Jean Valjean), Roger Allam (Javert), Patti LuPone (Fantine), Frances Ruffelle (Éponine) and Michael Ball (Marius).

The current cast includes WhatsOnStage Award winners Rachelle Ann Go (Fantine) and Carrie Hope Fletcher (Eponine), alongside Phil Daniels (Thénardier), Jeremy Secomb (Javert), Katy Secombe (Madame Thénardier), Peter Lockyer (Jean Valjean), Rob Houchen (Marius), Bradley Jaden (Enjolras) and Zoë Doano (Cosette).

Completing the cast is Adam Bayjou; Sanne den Besten; Edd Campbell Bird; Oliver Brenin; David Burnip; Jordan Lee Davies; Zoë Doano; Tamsin Dowsett; Katy Hanna; Matthew Harvey; Matt Jeans; Emma Kingston; Charlotte Kennedy; Jo Loxton; Luke McCall; Ryan O'Gorman; Jo Parsons; Adam Pearce; Michael Riseley; Katy Secombe; Courtney Stapleton; Jessamy Stoddart; Samantha Thomas; Lee Van Geleen; Helen Walsh and Paul Wilkins.