WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

Shortlist announced for Foster's Edinburgh Comedy Awards

Nominations have been revealed today for the 33rd year of the awards, the winners of which will be announced on Saturday

James Acaster is nominated for his show Lawnmower
The nominees for this year's Foster's Edinburgh Comedy Awards, the biggest comedy accolade at the Fringe, have been unveiled today.

The shortlist for Best Comedy Show comprises of seven acts including Sean Walsh for The Lie-In King, Bridget Christie's A Bic For Her and James Acaster's Lawnmower.

Other nominees are Carl Donnelly: Now That's What I Carl Donnelly! Volume V, duo Max and Ivan's The Reunion, Mike Wozniak's Take The Hit and Nick Helm's One Man Mega Myth.

Five people are up for the Best Newcomer prize, which comes with a cash prize of £5,000. These are Aisling Bea, John Kearns, Liam Williams, Matt Okine and Romesh Ranganathan.

The nominees were selected by the panel, comprising a mixture of comedy writers and producers as well as some public competition winners, from almost 600 eligible shows.

The winners for the two awards, plus the panel prize, will be presented on 24 August by former award-winner Steve Coogan.

Producer Nica Burns said: "This year's shows all combine great writing and outstanding performances with subject matter ranging from feminism, settling down, sky-writing, cats, love, life, lie-ins and the dangers of school reunions.

The newcomer's shortlist are the stars of tomorrow. A wonderful new generation of comedians who will make every corner of Britain laugh."

The awards, which are now in their 33rd year, have previously seen winners including The League of Gentleman, Al Murray, Lee Evans and, more recently, Tim Key and Adam Riches.