WhatsOnStage Logo

Our top five stories of 2013, from Miss Saigon to Colin Morgan

Our traffic stats for the year always makes interesting viewing, so we thought we'd share this year's top stories with you

WhatsOnStage logo

5. Cameron Mackintosh confirms Miss Saigon's West End return

This story, from 20 June, proved that interest in Boublil and Schonberg's Vietnam-set musical remains strong nearly 15 years after it flew out of the Theatre Royal, Drury Lane. As producer Cameron Mackintosh said: "Of all my shows, Miss Saigon is probably the one I have the most requests to bring back."

4. Lloyd Webber hails Arts Ed student 'best Eva Peron I've ever heard'

Andrew Lloyd Webber with the cast of Evita at ArtsEd
© ArtsEd

In November, ArtsEd student Mollie Melia-Redgrave sang the title role in a production of Evita that marked the opening of the venue's Andrew Lloyd Webber Theatre, funded by a grant from the composer's foundation. The man himself took to the stage at the curtain call and heralded her "the best sung Eva Peron I've ever heard".

3. Sean Holmes: 'Maybe the existing structures of theatre in this country, whilst not corrupt, are corrupting'

Sean Holmes at the launch of Secret Theatre
© David Tett

The Lyric Hammersmith's artistic director delivered a tub-thumping speech at the launch of his 'Secret Theatre' season that questioned the 'show by show' structure prevalent in UK theatre. It clearly touched a nerve and proved a huge hit with readers.

2. Colin Morgan joins Rupert Grint, Ben Whishaw, Daniel Mays and Brendan Coyle in West End Mojo

Colin Morgan, Rupert Grint, Daniel Mays, Ben Whishaw, Tom Rhys Harries and Brendan Coyle
© Kevin Cummins

Jez Butterworth's Mojo is one of the starriest West End play revivals of recent times, and news that Merlin's Colin Morgan (far left) had joined the cast set the Twittersphere alight.

1. Winners announced of the 2013 Whatsonstage.com Awards

The winners of the 2013 WhatsOnStage Awards included Melanie C, Tim Minchin, Idina Menzel, Rupert Everett, Sheridan Smith, Michael Ball, Imelda Staunton and Stephen Fry. Who'll be smiling on 23 February, when we announce the 2014 winners? Help decide by voting now!