The nominations were announced today for the 2013 Awards (click here for full story) - the only major UK theatre prize to be decided entirely by the theatregoing public.

The shortlists have been drawn up based on nominations submitted by theatregoers over the past month. More than 50,000 nominations were received, marking another new record for the Awards as they enter their 13th year.


Expected attendees include: Aaron Sidwell, Adam James, Aden Gillett, Adrian Lester, Adrian Lukis, Adrian Noble, Ben Forster, Blake Ritson, Cian Barry Danielle Hope, Darren Day, Deborah Shaw, Dominic Rowan, Gay Soper, Geronimo Rauch, Gina Beck, Hannah Waddingham, Harry Hadden-Paton, Helen Hobson, Hattie Morahan, Helen Lederer, Jamie Ballard, Jenna Russell, Jolyon Coy, Jude Kelly, Lewis Reeves, Linda Marlowe, Lucy Bailey, Mark Curry, Mark Hadfield, Maria Friedman, Martin Ball, Matt Rawle, Nica Burns, Paul Baker, Pip Carter, Rachel Tucker, Rosemary Ashe, Owain Arthur, Sally Dexter, Sandra Dickinson, Sierra Boggess, Simon Williams, Sophie Thompson, Tanya Moodie, Tracie Bennett and Will Young.

Voting opens today (Friday 7 December) at 2pm and closes at midnight on 31 January. Winners will be revealed at the Awards Ceremony and Concert, hosted by comedians Rufus Hound and Mel Giedroyc, at the West End’s Palace Theatre on Sunday 17 February.

Last year more than 70,000 theatregoers voted for their favorites. The 2013 Awards are held in aid of this year’s adopted charity InterAct, which provides disabled and disadvantaged young people with real opportunities to develop valuable life skills through drama and music workshops.