WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

WOS Radio: Interviews with Critics’ Circle Winners

WhatsOnStage logo

In a special Whatsonstage.com Radio news podcast, Roger Foss reports live from this week’s 19th annual Critics’ Circle Theatre Awards and talks exclusively to winners Chiwetel Ejiofor (Best Shakespearean Performance for Othello), Leanne Jones (Most Promising Newcomer for Hairspray, which also won Best Musical), Polly Stenham (Most Promising Playwright for That Face) and Charles Dance (Best Actor for Shadowlands).

There are also interviews with National Theatre associate director Tom Morris (who accepted the Best Designer award for War Horse on behalf of Rae Smith, and Adrian Kohler and Basil Jones from Handspring), choreographer Jerry Mitchell (who, with Jones, accepted the Best Musical award for Hairspray) and Complicite’s Judith Dimant (who accepted the Best Play award for A Disappearing Number on behalf of director Simon McBurney and the company).

Our further reporting on this year’s Critics’ Circle Awards includes: the full list of results and analysis, a winners' photo gallery, and acceptance speech highlights and other remarks.

Thanks for listening!


Tagged in this Story