WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

Just a week left to vote in 2013 Whatsonstage.com Awards

WhatsOnStage logo

Voting for this year's 13th annual Whatsonstage.com Awards, the only major UK theatre awards decided across the board by the public, enters its final week today (Thursday 24 January).

Over 50,000 theatregoers have so far taken part in the judging to decide the winners across 27 Awards categories. Voting - at Whatsonstage.com/vote - closes at 11.59pm on Thursday 31 January.

Winners are then announced, and trophies presented, in front of packed audience of theatregoer-voters and celebrity guests, at the West End's Palace Theatre in a concert ceremony, co-hosted by actor-comedians Rufus Hound and Mel Giedroyc and held in aid of this year's adopted charity Interact, on Sunday 17 February at 7pm.

Performers on the night include Jesus Christ Superstar nominees Tim Minchin and former Spice Girl Melanie C, and Wicked's current leading ladies Louise Dearman and nominee Gina Beck singing "Let Me Be Your Star" from US television hit Smash.

Nominees vs winners

Amongst the other nominees so far confirmed to attend are: Andy Nyman, Andrew Wright, Bill Deamer, Billie Piper, Chris Larner, Daniel Crossley, Danielle Hope, Dean Chisnall, Debbie Kurup, Edward Hall, Emi Wokoma, Fenella Woolgar, George Stiles, Hattie Morahan, Heather Headley, Hildegard Bechtler, Howard Brenton, Humphrey McDermott, Imelda Staunton, Jill Halfpenny, Jon Robyns, Joshua Miles, Kyle Soller, Lee Curran, Lindsay Posner, Lloyd Owen, Lolita Chakrabarti, Luke Treadaway, Maria Friedman, Mark Quartley, Matthew White, Michael Ball, Michael Bruce, Michael Taylor, Natalie Casey, Nathan M Wright, Nick Payne, Ramin Karimloo, Richard Sisson, Sheridan Smith, Sophie Thompson, Tim Hatley, Tim McInnerny, Tom Scutt and Vivien Parry.

But who amonst them will become winners on the night? It's still too soon to tell. Several categories are going right down to the wire, including:

Nominees were announced and voting opened at the annual industry-only Whatsonstage.com Awards Launch Party last month (7 December 2012), where guest presenters included Alistair McGowan, Mark Gatiss, Tamzin Outhwaite, Stephen Tompkinson and Belinda Lang. Shortlists were drawn up based on public submissions, open throughout November.

Vote at Whatsonstage.com/vote by 31 January



Tagged in this Story