WhatsOnStage Logo
Home link

2017 Edinburgh Comedy Awards announce Best Show and Best Newcomer Shortlists

The winners will be announced by Mark Gatiss, Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton on 26 August

The madness of the Edinburgh Festival
© The Edinburgh Festival Fringe Society

The 2017 lastminute.com Edinburgh Comedy Awards have announced the two shortlists for Best Comedy Show and Best Newcomer categories.

The two lists, of nine and eight respectively, reflect an equal gender representation for the first time in the awards' history. This is also the longest Comedy Show shortlist ever presented.

The winners of each category, alongside the Panel Prize winner, will be announced by Mark Gatiss, Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton of the League of Gentlemen and 2016 Best Comedy Show winner Richard Gadd on Saturday 26 August at a ceremony at the Dovecote Studios.

Nica Burns, director of the awards says: "70 years of the Fringe, 700 eligible shows: a record breaking year for comedy. It is unprecedented to see an almost gender- equal list with four women on the shortlist of nine, one more nomination than in 2015 and 2016, and some exciting new names for the public to discover."

The prize money for best comedy show is £10,000 with £5,000 each for the Best Newcomer and the Panel Prize winner.

The list of nominees in full:

Best Comedy Show

Ahir Shah: Control
Elf Lyons: Swan
Hannah Gadsby: Nanette
John Robins: The Darkness of Robins
Jordan Brookes: Body of Work
Mae Martin: Dope
Mat Ewins Presents Adventureman 7: The Return of Adventureman
Sophie Willan: Branded
Spencer Jones: The Audition

Best Newcomer Award

Chris Washington: Dream Big (Within Reason)
Darren Harriott: Defiant
Ed Night: Anthem for Doomed Youth
Kwame Asante: Open Arms
Lauren Pattison: Lady Muck
Lucy Pearman: Maid of Cabbage
Natalie Palamides: LAID
Rob Kemp: The Elvis Dead

See all our Edinburgh Festival coverage