Interviews

20 Questions with … Rising RSC star Alex Waldmann

Alex Waldmann is currently a member of the Royal Shakespeare Company ensemble, playing Orlando in As You Like It and Horatio in Hamlet

Alex Waldmann as Orlando in As You Like It

Where and when were you born?
I was born in Cambridge in 1979. I moved to Oxford to do my A-Levels, and I’ve been in London for the past 15 years – I did a history degree before graduating from LAMDA in 2004.

What made you want to become an actor?
I made my acting debut when I was eight years old playing The Gingerbread Boy in the US. I got a bladder infection and peed myself on stage. If that embarrassment wasn’t enough to put me off, maybe it was the thing for me! I came back to acting at University, auditioned for LAMDA on the off-chance and when they offered me a scholarship, it made up my mind for me.

If you hadn’t become an actor, what might you have done professionally?
I always thought I was going to be a drummer. I was doing quite well as a musician in London before I decided to go to drama school. Both my brothers are incredibly talented jazz musicians.

First big break?
Declan Donnellan cast me as Troilus in 2008 for his Cheek by Jowl production that played the Barbican and toured Europe. It was my first leading role and pretty much came out of nowhere. I owe him an eternal debt for seeing something in me, entrusting me, and teaching me so much. He is a real mentor.

Career highlights to date?
Working with the incredible Michael Grandage on Twelfth Night and Hamlet as part of the Donmar West End season (getting to act alongside Derek Jacobi and Jude Law); Rope with the great Roger Michell at the Almeida; The Holy Rosenbergs at the National; working with Reece Shearsmith and Steve Pemberton on the Psychoville Halloween Special and last year’s King John at the RSC.

Favourite directors?