Interviews

20 Questions: Composer Craig Adams – 'I don’t think Stephen Ward was the right approach for that story'

WhatsOnStage Award nominee Craig Adams (”LIFT”, ”Therese Raquin”) answers our questions

1. Where and when were you born?

I was born in a small village called Billinge, which is near Wigan in Lancashire, in the month of September.

2. What made you want to become a composer?

I studied music at High School but was always more into Drama/Acting and after my A-levels got accepted onto a degree course in English and Drama. But I was fascinated by Musical Theatre, Sondheim, Bernstein, Rodgers & Hammerstein, Kander & Ebb – the list goes on – and how they told stories through music, how in two and a half hours they could develop and re-develop melodies alongside the drama of the story. It was like classical music to me – which I was also obsessed by – but even more emotive because of the poetry that was attached in the form of lyrics.

So after some consideration I realised that studying English and Drama at University wasn’t right for me so I took a year out, did quite a bit of acting in Manchester in my spare time and decided that I wanted to go to drama school to become an actor.

During this whole period, throughout drama school and whilst I was working as an actor I always maintained that I was going to become a writer/composer, I would always say to people … ‘but I write too.’ In fact my very first job – as an actor – lead me to meet someone who said to me … ‘you should read Thérèse Raquin‘. So in answer to you question, (I am getting there!) it was a series of events really, coupled with an unhealthy obsession with Classical music, Musical theatre and Drama.

3. If you hadn’t become a composer, what might you have done professionally?

I probably would have stayed acting. If I had of gone down any other route I would have been a pilot! Random, I know … however I just wasn’t clever enough at science and maths!

4. First big break?