WhatsOnStage Logo
Home link
Theatre News

Cast announced for Sheffield Theatres' The Wizard of Oz

The show will be directed by Sheffield Theatres artistic director Robert Hastie

Catrin Aaron, Gabrielle Brooks and Jonathan Broadbent

Director Robert Hastie has announced the Christmas cast of John Kane and the RSC's adaptation The Wizard of Oz, which has now extended its run at Sheffield Theatres until 20 January.

The cast will be composed of Catrin Aaron (Miss Gulch/Wicked Witch), Jonathan Broadbent (Zeke/Lion), Gabrielle Brooks (Dorothy), Ryan Ellsworth (Professor Marvel/The Wizard Of Oz), Andrew Langtree (Hunk/Scarecrow), Michael Matus (Uncle Henry/Oz Doorkeeper), Sophia Nomvete (Aunt Em/Glinda) and Max Parker (Hickory/Tin Man).

Wizard of Oz tells the well-known tale of Dorothy ending up in the world of Oz after a freak storm. Hastie, artistic director of Sheffield Theatres, most recently directed Of Kith and Kin, which transfers to the Bush Theatre, and Julius Caesar.

The show, by L Frank Baum with music and lyrics by Harold Arlen and E Y Harburg, also has orchestration by Larry Wilcox and dance and vocal arrangements from Peter Howard. Janet Bird will design the production, with choreography from Ewan Jones.

The ensemble will be completed by Simon Anthony, Piers Bates, Myles Brown, Collette Coleman, Claire Doyle, Glen Facey, Samantha Hull, Blythe Jandoo, Fergal Mcgoff, Jo Lucy Rackham, Michael James Stewart, Charley Vincent, Rhiannon Wallace and Charlotte-Kate Warren.

The Wizard of Oz runs at Sheffield Theatres from 13 December to 20 January 2018, with previews from 7 December.