Theatre News

Cast announced for northern premiere of Pippin

Stephen Schwartz’s Tony Award-winning musical comes to the Hope Mill Theatre in late August

© Hope Mill Theatre

The full cast has today been announced for Hope Mill Theatre's production of the award-winning Broadway musical Pippin.

Directed by Jonathan O'Boyle, the cast will be composed of Mairi Barclay as Fastrada and Berthe, Jonathan Carlton as Pippin, Bradley Judge as Lewis, Tessa Kadler as Catherine, Rhidian Marc as Charles and Genevieve Nicole as the Leading Player. They will be joined by Olivia Faulkner, Andrew Halliday, Scott Hayward and Ellie Seaton as The Company of Players.

O’Boyle commented: "It’s a real thrill to be working on this production – we had such a euphoric response to our production of Hair last year, that I cannot wait to bring this magical Broadway sensation to Manchester. We are reinventing Pippin for the intimate space at Hope Mill and excited to welcome audiences to share the magic."

The Tony Award-winning musical was written by Roger O Hirson with music from Wicked composer Stephen Schwartz. It tells the story of a young prince and his journey to discover both a meaning of life and a source of happiness.

The creative team also includes musical director Zach Flis, choreographer William Whelton, designer Maeve Black, lighting designer Aaron J Dootson, and sound designer Chris Bogg.

Hope Mill Theatre opened in December 2015, and is located in the Grade II Listed Hope Mill. The theatre is the brainchild of Joseph Houston and William Whelton who, after a career in theatre and living in London, were inspired by the highly regarded Off West End Theatres and wanted to replicate them by forming a creative hub in Manchester.

Pippin runs at the Hope Mill Theatre from 25 August to 27 September.