WhatsOnStage Logo
Home link

Sheffield Theatres dominate UK Theatre Awards

Other winners include Ian McKellen and Vanessa Redgrave

Rebecca Trehearn, Clare Burt and Paapa Essiedu

This year's UK Theatre Award-winners have been announced, with Sheffield Theatres leading the way with five awards.

Daniel Evans' productions of Show Boat and Flowers For Mrs Harris shared the Best Musical Production award, as well as the Best Design award for Lez Brotherson's work on the two productions. Clare Burt won Best Performance in a Musical for her portrayal of Ada Harris in Flowers For Mrs Harris, and Rebecca Trehearn took home Best Supporting Performance for her Julie La Verne in Show Boat.

Sheffield Theatres won further acclaim in the Best New Play category, which was awarded to Charlene James' Cuttin' It, a co-production with the Young Vic, Royal Court Theatre, Birmingham Rep, Sheffield Theatres and The Yard Theatre.

Elsewhere, Paapa Essiedu won Best Performance in a Play for his Hamlet with the RSC, Raz Shaw won Best Director for Wit at the Royal Exchange, Manchester, and James Dacre's production of The Herbal Bed won Best Touring Production.

Ian McKellen was honoured with an award for Outstanding Contribution to British Theatre, and Vanessa Redgrave won The Gielgud Award for Excellence in The Dramatic Arts.

UK Theatre Awards 2016 winners:

Best New Play: Cuttin' It by Charlene James - a Young Vic/Royal Court Theatre co-production with Birmingham Repertory Theatre, Sheffield Theatres and The Yard Theatre.

Best Musical Production: Flowers For Mrs Harris - directed by Daniel Evans, a Sheffield Theatres Production AND Show Boat - directed by Daniel Evans, a Sheffield Theatres production

Best Touring Production: The Herbal Bed - directed by James Dacre, a co-production by Royal & Derngate Northampton, English Touring Theatre and Rose Theatre Kingston

Best Show For Children And Young People: The Hobbit - a The Dukes production

Best Director: Raz Shaw for WIt - a Royal Exchange Theatre production

Best Performance In A Play: Paapa Essiedu for Hamlet - a Royal Shakespeare Company production

Best Performance In A Musical: Clare Burt for Flowers For Mrs Harris - a Sheffield Theatres Production

Best Supporting Performance: Rebecca Trehearn for Show Boat - a Sheffield Theatres production

Best Design: Lez Brotherston for Flowers For Mrs Harris and Show Boat - a Sheffield Theatres productions

Achievement In Opera: The Royal Opera and Guildhall School Of Music and Drama for 4.48 Pyschosis in association with the Lyric Hammersmith

Achievement in Dance: Gary Clarke for Coal

Promotion Of Diversity: Belgrade Theatre

Theatre Employee Or Manager Of The Year: Diane Belding - Liverpool Empire Theatre

Achievement In Marketing: Northern Ballet

The Renee Stepham Award For Best Presentation Of Touring Theatre: Northern Stage

UK's Most Welcoming Theatre: The Mill at Sonning

Clothworkers' Award: Northern Stage

Outstanding Contribution To British Theatre: Ian McKellen

The Gielgud Award For Excellence In The Dramatic Arts: Vanessa Redgrave