Theatre News

Old Vic announces new cast of Old Vic 12

The producers, playwrights, directors and more will receive support and funding from the theatre

The Old Vic 12, 2016-17
The Old Vic 12, 2016-17

The Old Vic has announced the twelve theatre-makers that will form their Old Vic 12 company for 2016-17.

The scheme, which was founded last year, offers directors, writers, producers and other creatives the opportunity to take the next step in their career by providing mentoring, funding and networking events.

After 1,300 applications and 300 interviews, this year's company is made up of:

Directors: Chelsea Walker, Lekan Lawal and Jesse Jones
Producers: Molly Roberts, Tobi Kyeremateng and Aaron Rogers
Playwrights: Joe White, Rebecca Crookshank and John O’Donovan
Designer: Fin Redshaw
Movement Director: Rachael Nanyonjo
Composer: Cassie Kinoshi

The Old Vic's artistic director, Matthew Warchus said: "Supporting the next generation of theatre-makers is one of the most important and effective contributions to our cultural future we can make. It is also one of the most enjoyable."

Achievements from the first year of the scheme include Sarah Georgeson joining the Lyric Hammersmith as Assistant Producer, director Ed Stambollouian's Blush winning plaudits at the Edinburgh Festival, and composer Harry Blake becoming the Cameron Mackintosh resident composer at the West Yorkshire Playhouse.