WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

Performers at this year's Olivier Awards announced

Details of the live stream and ITV airing have been released

WhatsOnStage logo
Amber Riley, Tim Minchin and Gary Barlow
© Dan Wooller for WhatsOnStage

Details have been announced for this year's Olivier Awards ceremony, including broadcast plans and performances on the night.

The ceremony will be aired on ITV on Tuesday 11 April from 8pm as well as being broadcast outside the UK on Facebook at the same time. Magic Radio will broadcast the entire show live on Sunday 9 April, hosted by Ruthie Henshall and Alice Arnold.

As previously announced, Jason Manford will host the Olivier Awards this year, which take place at the Royal Albert Hall. Performances on the night include Tony Award-winner Audra McDonald, Gary Barlow and Tim Firth, Amber Riley, Tim Minchin and the cast of School of Rock.

There will also be a performance of Jesus Christ Superstar alongside a performance of Matthew Bourne's The Red Shoes.

The Olivier Award nominees were announced earlier this month in a Facebook live stream. Harry Potter and the Cursed Child became the most nominated new play in Olivier history, with 11 nominations. Groundhog Day has also received eight nominations while Sonia Friedman Productions received 31 nominations. Ian McKellen was nominated for the tenth time for No Man's Land.

This year Kenneth Branagh is being awarded the Special Achievement Olivier in recognition of his outstanding contribution to British theatre.

Guest presenters are to be announced over the coming weeks.

Read the full list of Olivier Award nominees this year

Click here for our ultimate guide to the Olivier Awards