Theatre News

Dear Evan Hansen extends West End run

The show will now be booking until 30 May 2020

The West End cast of Dear Evan Hansen
The West End cast of Dear Evan Hansen
© Matthew Murphy

Dear Evan Hansen has extended its West End run at the Noël Coward Theatre, it has been announced.

Sam Tutty leads a cast including Rebecca McKinnis (Heidi Hansen), Lucy Anderson (Zoe Murphy), Doug Colling (Conor Murphy), Lauren Ward (Cynthia Murphy), Rupert Young (Larry Murphy), Jack Loxton (Jared Kleinman) and Nicole Raquel Dennis (Alana Beck).

David Breeds covers the roles of Evan, Connor and Jared, Alex Thomas-Smith covers the roles of Evan and Jared while Marcus Harman plays alternate Evan Hansen and cover for Connor and Jared. Haydn Cox covers Connor and Jared.

Tricia Adele-Turner and Hannah Lindsey cover Heidi and Cynthia, while Natalie Kassanga and Courtney Stapleton covers Zoe and Alana. James Winter and Mark Peachey both cover Larry.

The musical tells of a boy in high school with social anxiety who fakes a series of letters and messages from a deceased member of his class to gain popularity.

It has words and music by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul and is directed by Michael Greif, with choreography by Danny Mefford, with design by David Korins, projection design by Peter Nigrini, costume design by Emily Rebholz, lighting design by Japhy Weideman, sound design by Nevin Steinberg and hair design by David Brian Brown. Music supervision, orchestrations and additional arrangements are by Alex Lacamoire. Ben Cohn is the associate music supervisor. Vocal arrangements and additional arrangements are by Paul.

WhatsOnStage said of this five-star show: "Dear Evan Hansen is a desperately powerful exploration of a troubled teen sacrificing the truth for a sense of comfort – startlingly relevant for a world swaddled in screens and fleeting fictions."

The show is currently booking until 30 May 2020 and has launched a new weekly digital lottery where winners will be able to purchase two tickets at £25 each.