WhatsOnStage Logo
Home link

Alfred Fagon Award announces Best New Play shortlist

The award winner will be revealed at a ceremony in December

Barber Shop Chronicles by Inua Ellams was among the nominees
© Marc Brenner

The 21st Alfred Fagon Awards have today announced the shortlist for the Best Play of the Year.

The awards celebrate and recognise the best in Black British playwrights of Carribean and African descent, writing in the UK today. In previous years Charlene James, Theresa Ikoko and Diana Nneka Atuona have all won the award.

The awards honour the memory of boxer, actor, playwright and poet Alfred Fagon, who died in 1986. The Peggy Ramsay Foundation continues to support the Award and the prize this year for the winning writer is £6000.

The overall winner will be announced at a ceremony at the Dorfman Theatre on 8 December, where the Audience Award and Roland Rees Bursary recipient will also be named.

The nominees for this year are:

Nine Nights by Archie Maddocks
SparkPlug by David Judge
Barber Shop Chronicles by Inua Ellams
A Black Fella Walks into a Bar by Melanie Pennant
Shebeen by Mufaro Makubika