WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

Shortlist for Sheridan Morley Prize Announced

WhatsOnStage logo
Theatre publisher Oberon Books have announced the shortlist for the Sheridan Morley Prize for Theatre Biography which this year includes the autobiographies of actor Simon Callow, My Life in Pieces, Christopher Stevens' biography of Carry On star Kenneth Williams and Stephen Sondheim's recently published book of collected lyrics and "attendant comments, principles, heresies, grudges, whines and anecdotes" Finishing the Hat.

Awarded for the best biography, autobiography or diary of a theatrical or show-business subject published in the last year, the prize is awarded in memory of the late Daily Express critic Sheridan Morley who died in February 2007 and was been presented since 2008.

The winner, which will be announced at the award ceremony at the Garrick Club on 22 February 2011, will receive a cash prize of £2000.

The full shortlist for the Sheridan Morley Prize for Theatre Biography was announced as:

My Life in Pieces by Simon Callow
Published by Nick Hern Books

The Reluctant Escapologist by Mike Bradwell
Published by Nick Hern Books

Finishing the Hat by Stephen Sondheim
Published by Ebury Publishing

Putting it On by Michael Codron and Alan Strachan
Published by Duckworth Publishers

Born Brilliant – The Life of Kenneth Williams by Christopher Stevens
Published by John Murray Publishers

Sheridan Morley wrote more than 30 books including biographies of John Gielgud and Noel Coward, with whom he was friends. A Talent to Amuse, which was first published in 1969 with Coward's blessing, is his best-known work.

An independent publisher, Oberon Books are sponsors of the 2011 Whatsonstage.com Awards, giving theatregoers the chance to vote for the year's Best New Play.

With a backlist of over 1000 books, Oberon publish the latest modern plays and classics from some of the world's leading dramatists as well as a range of publications covering the theatre, opera and dance.

To find out more about the 2011 Whatsonstage.com Awards, the "theatregoers' choice" hosted by Sheridan Smith, Christopher Biggins and the recently crowned "Queen of Comedy” Miranda Hart click here.

Amongst the nominees so far RSVPed to attend the event are: Tamsin Greig, Nancy Carroll, Sheridan Smith, Meera Syal, Michael Gambon, Craig Revel Horwood, Tamzin Outhwaite, Jill Halfpenny, Jenny Jules, Jemima Rooper, Rosalie Craig, Emma Cunniffe, Adam James, Nigel Lindsay, Victoria Hamilton-Barritt, Alex Gaumond, Chris Ellis-Stanton, Scarlett Strallen, Josefina Gabrielle, Joseph Millson, Michael Xavier, Paul J Medford, Dave Willetts, Simon Callow, Bob Golding, Howard Brenton, Timothy Sheader, Miriam Buether, Joanne Scotcher, Morgan Large, Peter Mumford, Stephen Mear, Robyn Addison, Jacob Casselden, Ali Bastian, Ben Richards, Zoe Wanamaker and Daniel Kaluuya.


Tagged in this Story