Tonic Award winners celebrate at the inaugural ceremony

The inaugural Tonic Awards took place in London last night

The inaugural Tonic Awards took place last night in Mayfair in London. The awards, set up by Tonic Theatre, celebrate the achievements of game-changing women in theatre.

Figures across the industry came together for the evening, with stars including Harriet Walter, Tamara Harvey, Adrian Lester and Hattie Morahan turning out in support of the organisation and the winners.

The winners were Emma Rice, Indhu Rubasingham, Dawn Walton, Jenny Sealey, Anna Newell and Paule Constable.

A further two awards were given to groups: Phyllida Lloyd, Harriet Walter and Kate Pakenham for the all-female Shakespeare Trilogy and Vicky Featherstone, the National Theatre of Scotland and Live Theatre for Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour.

Click here for our full story on the winners.

Read our interview with Tonic Theatre founder Lucy Kerbel