The Stage Awards 2019 shortlist announced

This year’s winners will be announced at a ceremony on 25 January

Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester
Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester

The shortlist for the 2019 Stage Awards has been announced.

Organisations and the public were invited to nominate between October and November, following which 30 industry figures and writers for The Stage considered the nominees. The shortlist was then decided on by a judging panel of Stage writers and editors including Alistair Smith, Lyn Gardner and Natasha Tripney.

Winners will be announced at an awards ceremony held on January 25, 2018 at the Bridge Theatre, London.

This year the nominees includes a return for Sonia Friedman on the Producer of the Year shortlist. The producer has won the category in 2015, 2016 and 2017.

Nottingham Playhouse is nominated in Regional Theatre of the Year alongside Royal Exchange, Manchester and Theatr Clwyd. The Unsung Hero award, (for which there is no shortlist) will be announced at the ceremony

London Theatre of the Year includes Almeida Theatre, Bush Theatre and the Young Vic.

Smith, editor of The Stage commented: "In the year in which both the Manchester Theatre Awards and Wales Theatre Awards have announced their closures, I am proud that The Stage Awards continue to celebrate the achievements of performing arts organisations from across the UK – including organisations from both Manchester and Wales. Many congratulations to all the organisations shortlisted."

Read the shortlist in full.

Shortlist in full

Regional Theatre of the Year
Nottingham Playhouse
Royal Exchange Theatre, Manchester
Theatr Clwyd, Mold

London Theatre of the Year
Almeida Theatre
Bush Theatre
Young Vic Theatre

Fringe Theatre of the Year
Barn Theatre, Cirencester
Omnibus Theatre, London
Vault Festival, London

Theatre Building of the Year
Battersea Arts Centre, London
Bristol Old Vic
Royal Opera House, London

Producer of the Year
Fiery Angel
Sonia Friedman Productions

School of the Year
Great Torrington School, Devon
Open Door, London and Birmingham
Young Lyric at the Lyric Hammersmith, London

International Award
Hijinx Theatre, Cardiff
National Theatre Scotland, Glasgow
New International Encounter, Cambridge and Hvalstad

Innovation Award
Talking Birds for The Difference Engine captioning software
New Diorama Theatre, London for its programming model
National Theatre and Spotlight for ProFile, a video casting database for D/deaf and disabled actors

Sustainability Award
Julie's Bicycle and Arts Council England for the Accelerator Programme
Lyric Hammersmith, London
National Theatre, London