3MT announce their awards

3MT have had their first awards ceremony – in a celebration of Manchester talent.

3MT Award Winners
3MT Award Winners
© 3MT

The 3MT has fast established itself as one of the most interesting and unique fringe spaces in Manchester featuring everything from new plays, revivals, world premiere productions, live music, workshops, poetry and film, located in Afflecks Palace the venue is bringing the curtain down on another exciting year before kicking off 2014 with more exciting events.

This year they hosted the first annual 3MT Awards, a night to honour the best of the best who played the venue over the last 12 months. The packed night hosted by the owners John and Gina was a huge success bringing the fringe scene together to catch up, mingle and congratulate each other.

With venues such as The Black Lion and Lass O’Gowrie sadly closing down, the 3MT showed that they are here to stay. Over 15 awards were given out and winners included the comedy musical Someone’s Borrowed, Someone’s Blue by New Attitude winning best comedy play, Neil Ely winning for Best New Play for his hit show Asylum of Grace and Vertigo Theatre Productions winning for Outstanding Production of the Year for the thriller ‘M’ and Most Successful Theatre Company.

Here's the list of winners:

Most successful poetry night – Magical Animals

Best Live Music Night – Ben McGarvey ‘Minute Taker’

Best Comedy Sketch Show – Norris and Parker

Best Showcase Night – Andous Productions

Best Film Event – Kino Films

Best Improv Night – Playback Theatre

Best Comedy Play – Someone’s Borrowed, Someone’s Blue (New Attitude Theatre, written by Alasdair Jarvie)

Best New Play – Asylum of Grace (Lem Productions, written by Neil Ely)

Best Published Play – Lifelong Yearning

Best Festival – 24/7 Festival

Outstanding Original Production of the Year – ‘M’ (Vertigo Theatre Productions, written by Craig Hepworth and Adele Stanhope)

Most Unusual Event – Dr Sketchy

Best Charity Event – The Alzheimer’s Charity Cabaret night by Dale Vicker

Most Loyal Audience Member – Bill Booth

Best New Writer – Alex Keelan

Best Sponsor – Darrin Baines

Special Achievement Award – Lloyd Eyre Morgan

Most Successful Fringe company 2013 – Vertigo Theatre Productions

These awards will now take place each December honouring the best of the years events that play the 3MT, for more information about the venue please visit the 3MT website

– Craig Hepworth