WhatsOnStage Logo
Home link
Theatre News

Edinburgh awards 2015 - Who won what?

Our round-up of some of the theatre awards given out during last month's festival

Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour was a multiple award winner
© Manuel Harlan

The Scotsman Fringe First Awards

Week One
A Gambler's Guide to Dying (Traverse)
Going Viral (Northern Stage @ Summerhall)
The Christians (Traverse)
Swallow (Traverse)
The Deliverance (Assembly)
Underneath (Dance Base)
The History of the World Through Banalities (Summerhall)

Week Two
Light Boxes (Summerhall)
Raz (Assembly)
Citizen Puppet (Pleasance)
Labels (Pleasance)
Tar Baby (Gilded Baloon)
Trans Scripts (Pleasance)
The Great Downhill Journey of Little Tommy (Summerhall)

Week Three
A Girl is a Half-formed Thing (Traverse)
Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour (Traverse)
Penny Arcade: Longing Lasts Longer (Underbelly)
What I Learned From Johnny Bevan (Summerhall)
A Reason to Talk (Summerhall)

The Stage Awards for Acting Excellence

Molly Vevers in Ross and Rachel

Week One:
Molly Vevers, Ross and Rachel (Assembly)
Aoife Duffin, A Girl Is A Half-Formed Thing (Traverse)

Week Two
Andy Gray, Willie & Sabastian (Gilded Balloon)
Sean Michael Verey, Tonight with Donny Stixx (Pleasance)
1972: The Future of Sex (Zoo Venues)

Week Three
Ensemble from Police Cops (Zoo Venues)
Maureen Beattie, The Jennifer Tremblay Trilogy (Assembly)
Ensemble from UKIP! The Musical (theSpaceUK)
Lizzie Clarke, Molly (Pleasance)
Ensemble from Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour (Traverse)

Herald Angel Awards

The Harmonium Project (EIF - Usher Hall)
Simon McBurney, Encounter (EIF - EICC)
Correction, Ver TeDance (Zoo Venues)
Bryony Kimmings and Tim Grayburn, Fake it till you Make it (Traverse)
Richard Egarr (EIF - The Queen's Hall)
Penny Arcade, Longing Lasts Longer (Underbelly)
Aceh Meukondore, Kande (C Venues)
National Theatre of Scotland and Live Theatre, Our Ladies of Perpetual Succour (Traverse)

The Edinburgh Festival Chorus (EIF)
Robert Lepage, 887 (EIF - EICC)

Little Devils
The artists and facilitators of Underbelly Circus Hub
Fascinating Aida's Dillie Keane

Total Theatre Awards

Emerging Company/Artist
Breach, The Beanfield (theSpaceUK)

Physical/Visual Theatre
Al Seed, Oog (Dance Base)

Innovation/Experimentation & Playing with Form
Sue MacLaine and Nadia Nadarajah, Can I Start Again Please (Summerhall)
Volker Gerling in association with Aurora Nova, Portraits In Motion (Summerhall)

Total Theatre & The Place Award for Dance
Le Patin Libre, Vertical Influences (Assembly Festival)

Total Theatre & Jacksons Lane Award for Circus
Palestinian Circus Company in association with Aurora Nova, B-Orders (Circus Hub)
theRICOCHETproject, Smoke and Mirrors (Assembly Festival)

Visit www.edfringe.com for a full list of award winners