WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

WOS TV: Stars Collect Gongs at WOS Awards

WhatsOnStage logo
Sheridan Smith, David Suchet, Zoe Wanamaker and Glee's Jonathan Groff are among the winners of the 11th annual Whatsonstage.com Awards, announced this evening (20 February 2011) during a star-studded concert at the West End's Prince of Wales Theatre.

Theatregoers voted for their favourites across 26 different award categories between 3 December, when the nominations were announced, and 31 January. This year over 45,000 voters logged on to have their say in the only prize-giving event for the theatre industry voted for purely by the ticket-buying public.

For a full list of all the 2011 winners click here.

Broadway import Legally Blonde led the way with four awards, including Best New Musical and Best Choreographer (Jerry Mitchell). Legally Blonde’s leading ladies also triumphed, though it was Andrew Lloyd Webber’s Love Never Dies that took home the leading men spoils.

Awards co-host Sheridan Smith won Best Actress in a Musical for her performance as Elle Woods and her co-star Jill Halfpenny was named Best Supporting Actress in a Musical, while the Phantom himself from Love Never Dies, Ramin Karimloo, scooped Best Actor in a Musical and his co-star Joseph Millson, who plays his love rival Raoul, secured Best Supporting Actor in a Musical. 

Those in attendance on the night included: Camilla Storey, Brian Fortuna, Rachel Tucker, Mark Evans, Paul J Medford, Craig Revel Horwood, Ramin Karimloo, Stephen Mear, Mark Smith, Hadley Fraser, Rosalie Craig, Rory Svensson, Victoria Hamilton-Barritt, Luke Kempner, Steven Webb, Michael Praed, Josefina Gabrielle, Giles Terera, Dan Poole, Ben Richards, Helen Richards, Joseph Millson, Emma Cunniffe, Adrian Lester, Verity Rushworth, Dominic Shaw, Jane McMurtie, Alex Gaumond, Bob Golding, Sanjeev Bhaskar, Meera Syal, Norm Lewis, Alfie Boe, Morgan Large, Oliver Watton, David Suchet, Zoe Wanamaker, Gawn Grainger, Summer Strallen,  Greg Duggan, Sanjeev Bhaskar, Phil Bateman, Lizzie Gee, Nina Raine, Natalie Walter, Jemima Rooper, Ben Ockrent, Meera Syal, Craig Revel Horwood, Adam Spreadbury-Maher, Robin Norton-Hale, Ben Cooper, Timothy Sheader, Rachel Tucker, James Farncombe, Joanna Scotcher, Tamsin Greig, and of course our lovely hosts Sheridan Smith, Christopher Biggins and Miranda Hart.



Tagged in this Story