WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

WOS Awards Concert Sells Out on Valentine’s Day

WhatsOnStage logo
All public tickets for the Winners’ Concert of our TENTH ANNUAL Whatsonstage.com Awards next Sunday 14 February 2010 the West End’s 1200-seat Prince of Wales Theatre are now completely sold out! Clearly, it’s a very popular way to spend Valentine’s Day!

Though 2010 marks the tenth year of the Awards themselves, it is only the third year of the Awards Concert, at which the winners are announced and trophies presented in front of a live audience of theatregoer voters. The first two years also sold out on the night, but this is the first time that the event has completely sold out in advance.

Once our nominees guest list is finalised, we are hoping to release a handful of top-price £42.50 reserve tickets on Friday 12 February. If you’d like to be alerted as soon as these are put on sale, please click here join the waiting list!

For the tenth annual Awards in 2010, we’re back at the beautiful Prince of Wales Theatre, home of Mamma Mia!, with a new co-host in “King of the Jungle” Christopher Biggins and a full concert line-up including performances by 2010 nominees Jodie Prenger, Charlotte Wakefield and Hannah Waddingham, Priscilla Queen of the Desert, Wicked, Les Miserables and The Pirates of Penzance, as well as past winners Ryan Molloy, Leanne Jones and Sally Ann Triplett and much much more!

The Concert is directed and devised by Russell Labey, with musical supervision by Iain Vince Gatt, lighting by Mike Robertson, sound by Ben Harrison and choreography by Andrew Wright. It’s produced by Stuart Piper and Jason Haigh-Ellery on behalf of Whatsonstage.com, with general and production management by Jon Bath for Cole Kitchenn Ltd.

And who will be collecting trophies? Voting has now closed – with a record 46,000 people having taken part! - but the winners remain a secret until the night! Amongst the nominees so far rsvped to attend the event are: Alison Steadman, Alistair McGowan, Amanda Drew, Carol Macready, Charlotte Wakefield, Clive Carter, Daniel Crossley, David Dawson, Fiona Shaw, Gabriel Vick, Hannah Waddingham, Ian McKellen, Jane Horrocks, Jez Butterworth, Jodie Prenger, John Shrapnel, Julian Ovenden, Kate Fleetwood, Lesley Garrett, Lesley Sharp, Mackenzie Crook, Mark Rylance, Mark Henderson, Michael Wynne, Miriam Margolyes, Nicholas Hoult, Oliver Thornton, Patina Miller, Patrick Stewart, Peter McKintosh, Roger Allam, Rupert Goold, Samantha Spiro, Trevor Nunn and William Dudley.

The Awards Concert is held in aid of this year’s adopted charity, Theatre Royal Haymarket Masterclass, which gives young people the chance to learn from and be inspired by leading artists.


Tagged in this Story