WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

Spotlight Showcase Tonight, 22 Graduates Compete

WhatsOnStage logo
The Spotlight Showcase 2011 will be held at the Bloomsbury Ballroom tonight (19 July 2011) with 22 of the most promising graduating students from drama schools across the country performing in front of a star-studded judging panel of actors and casting directors and an audience of agents, producers and industry professionals.

This year's judging panel is made up of actors Sylvia Syms (Case Histories, Ice Cold In Alex, The Queen), Julian Glover (Game of Thrones, Silent Witness, Oliver!), Stephen Tompkinson (Wild at Heart, Prime Suspect, Brassed Off), Joanna Page (Women in Love, An Ideal Husband, The Priory), Janet Suzman (A Day in the Death of Joe Egg, Nicholas and Alexandra, Voyage of the Damned) and Rachael Stirling (Women in Love, An Ideal Husband, The Priory).

The panel also includes industry professionals Neil Rutherford, head of casting for ATG; Amy Ball, head of casting at the Royal Court; Julia Crampsie, casting executive for BBC Drama; and Nigel Seale, head of Spotlight.

This year's graduates will compete for the titles of Best Actor and Highly Commended Actor and prize money of £2000 and £1500 respectively.

Previous winners of the annual Showcase have included Albert Finney, Judi Dench, Robert Lindsay, Jim Broadbent and Zoe Wanamaker with last year’s winner, Andrew Gower, having already appeared as a series regular in ITV’s Monroe. He also appeared in the BBC’s production of Frankenstein’s Wedding earlier this year.

Be sure to check back tomorrow to find out who of the 22 "faces to watch" are the winners and for photos from tonight's event.

The 22 graduating students included in this year's Spotlight Showcase are:

Robert Saunders ALRA
Mitchell Hunt Arts Ed
Edward Birch Bristol Old Vic
James Mountain Birmingham School of Acting
Henry Proffit Central
Alexandra Harman Cygnet Training Theatre
Lily Carrie Queen Margaret University
Damien Molony Drama Centre London
Eddie Arnold Drama Studio London
Andrew Leung East 15
Lucy Hope Borne GSA
Kurt Egyiawan Guildhall
Itoya Osagiede Italia Conti
Ciaran Owens LAMDA
Jamie Hampson LIPA
Louisa Lorey Manchester Metropolitan School of Theatre
Nicola Kill Mountview
Cassandra Bond Oxford School of Drama
Hiran Abeysekera RADA
Kirsty Oswald Rose Bruford
Lynsey-Anne Mofatt RSAMD
Stephen Bisland RWCMD


Tagged in this Story