WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

Sher Leads Revival of Miller\'s Glass at Tricycle

WhatsOnStage logo
Antony Sher will lead the cast in a new revival of Arthur Miller’s Broken Glass at the Tricycle Theatre later this year.

The production, which will be directed by Iqbal Khan and designed by Mike Britton, runs from 6 October to 27 November 2010 (previews from 30 September).

Broken Glass, written in 1994, centres on a married Jewish couple living in New York City at the time in 1938 when Kristallnacht (night of the broken glass), was taking place in Nazi Germany. It won an Olivier Award for Best New Play after receiving its UK premiere at the National Theatre in 1994.

Multi award-winner Antony Sher was most recently on stage in An Enemy of the People, Daniel Evans\' inaugural production as artistic director of Sheffield Theatres. His extensive theatre credits include The Tempest, Othello and Richard III for the Royal Shakespeare Company, Kean at the Apollo Theatre and on tour nationally, Primo (which he also wrote) for the National Theatre and Music Box Theater, New York, I.D. which he also wrote, for the Almeida Theatre, Stanley and Torch Song Trilogy at the Albery Theatre.

Arthur Miller, who died in 2005, is currently represented in the West End by Howard Davies\' highly acclaimed production of All My Sons, and by Timothy Sheader\'s recently opened revival of The Crucible at the Open Air Theatre, Regent\'s Park.

Iqbal Khan began directing at Leicester Haymarket and the National Theatre Studio. His recent directing credits include East is East for Birmingham Rep, A Slight Ache and Landscape for the National Theatre and Too Close To Home and Madama Butterfly at the Lyric Hammersmith.

Also at the Tricycle, the full acting company has been announced for the venue\'s forthcoming revival of its The Great Game: Afghanistan season.

Karl Davies, Shereen Martineau, Daniel Rabin, Raad Rawi and Cloudia Swann join the previously announced Daniel Betts, Sheena Bhattessa, Michael Cochrane, Vincent Ebrahim, Nabil Elouahabi, Tom McKay, Danny Rahim, Jemma Redgrave and Rick Warden for the season, which runs from 31 July until 29 August 2010 (previews from 23 July).

The play cycle, which originally ran for three months, from April to June 2009, will present the world premiere of a new work by Lee Blessing, alongside the plays premiered last season by writers Stephen Jeffreys, Ron Hutchinson, Amit Gupta, Joy Wilkinson, David Edgar, David Greig, Colin Teevan, Ben Ockrent, Abi Morgan, Richard Bean and Simon Stephens (See News, 24 Mar 2010).


Tagged in this Story