WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

Rupert Everett, Sheridan Smith & Curious Incident make Standard longlists

WhatsOnStage logo
The longlists have been announced for this year's Evening Standard Awards - the curtain-raiser of the theatre awards season that also features the Critics' Circle, Oliviers and our own Whatsonstage.com Awards.

The National Theatre leads the way with 22 entries, including four for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time, followed by the Royal Court with 13 nominations.

Sheridan Smith, who won Best Actress for Flare Path last year, is longlisted this time round for Hedda Gabler.

Other names making the acting longlists include Rupert Everett, Adrian Lester, Eddie Redmayne, Michael Sheen, Cate Blanchett, Anne-Marie Duff, Imelda Staunton and Joely Richardson - sister of the late Natasha, in whose honour the Best Actress Award is named.

Best director features heavyweights including Marianne Elliott, Nicholas Hytner, Benedict Andrews, Ian Rickson, Lucy Bailey and Josie Rourke.

The Best Musical longlist includes two nods for the Southwark Playhouse, for its recent revivals of Floyd Collins and Mack and Mabel.

A panel of theatre critics (Henry Hitchings, Georgina Brown, Susannah Clapp, Libby Purves, Charles Spencer and Matt Wolf), as well as Evening Standard editor Sarah Sands will choose this year's awards.

The shortlist will be announced on 12 November 2012 and the winners revealed at a ceremony presented by James Corden at the Savoy Hotel on 25 November, when the recipients of five special awards will also be revealed.

Best Play

Choir Boy by Tarell Alvin McCraney (Royal Court Upstairs)
Constellations by Nick Payne (Royal Court Upstairs)
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Simon Stephens (National’s Cottesloe)
Jumpy by April De Angelis (Royal Court Downstairs and Duke of York)
The Last of the Duchess by Nicholas Wright (Hampstead)
Love and Information by Caryl Churchill (Royal Court Downstairs)
Love Love Love by Mike Bartlett (Royal Court Downstairs)
Reasons to Be Pretty by Neil LaBute (Almeida)
South Downs by David Hare (Chichester Minerva and the Harold Pinter)
This House by James Graham (National’s Cottesloe)
The Witness by Vivienne Franzmann (Royal Court Upstairs)

Best Director

Benedict Andrews for Three Sisters (Young Vic)
Lucy Bailey for Uncle Vanya (The Print Room)
Tom Cairns for Scenes from an Execution (National’s Lyttelton)
Carrie Cracknell for A Doll’s House (Young Vic)
Marianne Elliott for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time (National’s Cottesloe)
Polly Findlay for Antigone (National’s Lyttelton)
Sean Foley for The Ladykillers (Gielgud)
Jeremy Herrin for This House (National’s Cottesloe)
Nicholas Hytner for Timon of Athens (National’s Olivier)
Jonathan Kent for Sweeney Todd (Chichester Festival and Adelphi)
James Macdonald for Love and Information (Royal Court Downstairs)
Roger Michell for Farewell to the Theatre (Hampstead)
Lindsay Posner for Noises Off (Old Vic and Novello)
Ian Rickson for Hamlet (Young Vic)
Josie Rourke for The Recruiting Officer (Donmar Warehouse)
Lyndsey Turner for Philadelphia, Here I Come! (Donmar Warehouse)

Best Actor

Simon Russell Beale, Collaborators (National’s Cottesloe and Olivier)
Charles Edwards, The King’s Speech (Wyndham’s) and This House (National’s Cottesloe)
Rupert Everett, The Judas Kiss (Hampstead)
Laurence Fox, Our Boys (Duchess)
David Haig, The Madness of George III (Theatre Royal Bath and Apollo)
Douglas Hodge, Inadmissible Evidence (Donmar Warehouse)
Alex Jennings, Collaborators (National’s Cottesloe and Olivier)
Rory Kinnear, The Last of the Haussmans (National’s Lyttelton)
Adrian Lester, Red Velvet (Tricycle Theatre)
Simon Paisley Day, The Taming of the Shrew (Shakespeare’s Globe)
Eddie Redmayne, Richard II (Donmar Warehouse)
Adrian Scarborough, Hedda Gabler (Old Vic)
Michael Sheen, Hamlet (Young Vic)
Scott Shepherd, Gatz (Elevator Repair Service at Noel Coward)
David Suchet, Long Day’s Journey Into Night (Apollo)
Luke Treadaway, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time (National Cottesloe)

Natasha Richardson Award for Best Actress

Eileen Atkins, All That Fall (Jermyn Street)
Pippa Bennett Warner, The Witness (Royal Court Upstairs)
Eve Best, The Duchess of Malfi (Old Vic)
Cate Blanchett, Big and Small (Sydney Theatre Company for Barbican)
Anna Chancellor, The Last of the Duchess (Hampstead)
Anne-Marie Duff, Berenice (Donmar Warehouse)
Mariah Gale, Three Sisters (Young Vic)
Tamsin Greig, Jumpy (Royal Court Downstairs and Duke of York’s)
Sally Hawkins, Constellations (Royal Court Upstairs)
Martina Laird, Moon on a Rainbow Shawl (National’s Cottesloe)
Helen McCrory, The Last of the Haussmans (National’s Lyttelton)
Laurie Metcalf, Long Day’s Journey Into Night (Apollo)
Hattie Morahan, A Doll’s House (Young Vic)
Joely Richardson, The Lady from the Sea (Kingston’s Rose Theatre)
Sheridan Smith, Hedda Gabler (Old Vic)
Imelda Staunton, Sweeney Todd (Chichester and Adelphi)

Ned Sherrin Award for Best Musical

Floyd Collins (Southwark Playhouse) Directed by Derek Bond
Mack & Mabel (Southwark Playhouse)
Singin’ In the Rain (Chichester Festival and Palace Theatre)
Swallows and Amazons (A Bristol Old Vic production, presented by the National Theatre and The Children’s Touring Partnership at the Vaudeville Theatre)
Sweeney Todd (Chichester Festival and Adelphi)
Top Hat (Aldwych)

Best Design

Hildegard Bechtler, Top Hat (Aldwych)
Miriam Buether, Wild Swans (A Young Vic/American Repertory Theatre/Actors Touring Company co-production)
Bunny Christie, The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time (National’s Cottesloe)
Kevin Depinet, Detroit (National’s Cottesloe)
Es Devlin, The Master and Margarita (Complicite at Barbican)
Soutra Gilmour, Inadmissible Evidence (Donmar Warehouse) and Antigone (National’s Olivier)
Richard Kent, Richard II (Donmar Warehouse)
Ian MacNeil, A Doll’s House (Young Vic)
Peter McKintosh, Noises Off (Old Vic)
Vicki Mortimer, The Last of the Haussmans (National’s Lyttelton)
Lucy Osborne, The Recruiting Officer (Donmar Warehouse)
Michael Taylor, The Ladykillers (Gielgud)
Jamie Vartan, Misterman (National’s Lyttelton)

Charles Wintour Award for Most Promising Playwright

Stephen Beresford, The Last of the Haussmans (National’s Lyttelton)
Lolita Chakrabarti, Red Velvet (Tricycle)
Ishy Din, Snookered (Bush)
Vickie Donoghue, Mudlarks (Bush)
Nancy Harris, Our New Girl (Bush)
John Hodge, Collaborators (National’s Cottesloe)
Luke Norris, Goodbye to All That (Royal Court Upstairs)
Nicholas Pierpan, You Can Still Make a Killing (Southwark Playhouse)
Tim Price, Salt, Root and Roe (Trafalgar Studios)
Hayley Squires, Vera Vera Vera (Royal Court Upstairs and Theatre Local Peckham)
Tom Wells, The Kitchen Sink (Bush)

Milton Shulman Award for Outstanding Newcomer

Jonathan Bailey, South Downs (Chichester Minerva and the Harold Pinter)
Denise Gough, Our New Girl (Bush) and Desire Under the Elms (Lyric Hammersmith)
David Fynn, She Stoops to Conquer (National’s Olivier)
Cush Jumbo, She Stoops to Conquer (National’s Olivier)
Abby Rakic-Platt, Vera Vera Vera (Royal Court Upstairs and Theatre Local Peckham)
Matthew Tennyson, Making Noise Quietly (Donmar Warehouse)
Joshua Williams, Shivered (Southwark Playhouse) and Love and Information (Royal Court Upstairs)
Emi Wokoma, Soul Sister (Hackney Empire and Savoy)


Tagged in this Story