WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

Plays cast: Royal Court Low Road & Hampstead Hello/Goodbye

WhatsOnStage logo

A cast of 19 has been confirmed for Bruce Norris' new play The Low Road, which premieres at the Royal Court Jerwood Theatre Downstairs on 27 March 2013 (previews from 22 March).

The full cast is: Jared Ashe, Jack Benjamin, Kit Benjamin, Elizabeth Berrington, Helen Cripps, Johnny Flynn, Ian Gelder, Raj Ghatak, Natasha Gordon, Kobna Holdbrook-Smith, Ellie Kendrick, Edward Killingback, Fredrick Neilson, Simon Paisley Day, Bill Paterson, Harry Peacock, Leigh Quinn, John Ramm and Will Thompson.

With an original live music score by Gary Yershon, played by different members of the company, The Low Road is billed as "a fable of free market economics and cut-throat capitalism". It centres on a young entrepreneur (Johnny Flynn) who sets out on a quest for wealth with priceless ambition and a purse of gold.

Flynn returns to the Court having previously appeared in Richard Bean's The Heretic and Jez Butterworth's multi award-winning Jerusalem. He recently appeared alongside Mark Rylance and Stephen Fry in the Globe's Whatsonstage.com Award-nominated productions of Twelfth Night and Richard III.

The play will be the final production Dominic Cooke will direct at the Royal Court before he steps down as artistic director in April.

Bruce Norris' The Pain and the Itch was the first play directed by Cooke in his inaugural season and they also collaborated on the award-winning Clybourne Park, which opened in September 2010 at the Royal Court before transferring to the West End.

Casting has also been announced for the premiere of Peter Souter's debut play Hello/Goodbye, which runs at Hampstead Theatre Downstairs from 1 to 30 March.

Directed by Tamara Harvey, the story follows young, smart and sassy Juliet who upon moving to her new flat, bumps into a handsome stranger who says the agency has fouled up and the flat belongs to him...

The cast are Jo Herbert, Yolanda Kettle, Andy Rush and Leo Starr. The show is designed by Lucy Osbourne, with lighting by David Holmes with music and sound by George Dennis. 


Tagged in this Story