WhatsOnStage Logo
Theatre News

Outhwaite, Gatiss, McGowan, Lang & Tompkinson help launch 2013 Whatsonstage.com Awards

WhatsOnStage logo
We're delighted to announce that the guest presenters joining us for the launch of the 2013 Whatsonstage.com Awards next Friday (7 December 2012) will include Tamzin Outhwaite, Mark Gatiss, Alistair McGowan, Belinda Lang and Stephen Tompkinson.

The glittering Launch Party takes place at the West End's Cafe de Paris and sees the cream of Theatreland gathering to hear the shortlists announced for the 2013 Whatsonstage.com Awards - the only major theatre prize to be decided entirely by the theatre-going public.

Tamzin Outhwaite, Mark Gatiss and Alistair McGowan are no strangers to the Whatsonstage.com Awards having been previously nominated.

Gatiss joins us fresh from his acclaimed portrayal of Charles I in 55 Days at Hampstead Theatre (where Outhwaite is shortly to open in Di & Viv & Rose), while Stephen Tompkinson can currently be seen making West End musical debut as King Arthur in Spamalot.
l-r Tamsin Outhwaite, Mark Gatiss, Alistair McGowan, Belinda Lang
& Stephen Tompkinson (photos: Dan Wooller)

Belinda Lang, whose myriad stage credits include starring in the West End opposite Dame Judi Dench in Hay Fever and more recently in The Killing of Sister George at the Arts Theatre, will speak on behalf of actors' union Equity, one of our Awards sponsors.

Nominees across all 27 categories will be revealed at the event which, as previously announced, will culminate with a performance from the US cast of Tony Award winner American Idiot.

Among those who've already RSVP'd to attend the Launch Party are: Aaron Sidwell, Adam James, Aden Gillett, Adrian Lester, Adrian Lukis, Adrian Noble, Danielle Hope, Darren Day, Deborah Shaw, Dominic Rowan, Gay Soper, Geronimo Rauch, Gina Beck, Hannah John Karmen, Hannah Waddingham, Harry Hadden-Paton, Hattie Morahan, Helen Lederer, Jamie Ballard, Jolyon Coy, Laurence Boswell, Lewis Reeves, Linda Marlowe, Lucy Bailey, Mark Curry, Mark Hadfield, Martin Ball, Matt Rawle, Nica Burns, Paul Baker, Pip Carter, Rachel Tucker, Rosemary Ashe, Sally Dexter, Sandra Dickinson, Sierra Boggess, Simon Williams, Tanya Moodie and Tracie Bennett.

Nominations for the 2013 Whatsonstage.com Awards are open until 6pm on Friday (30 November) - click here to nominate now! The voting for the winners commences immediately after the Launch Party.

Final results are announced during the star-studded Awards Concert, which takes place this year on Sunday 17 February 2013 at the Palace Theatre, hosted by Mel Giedroyc and Rufus Hound.

The evening includes a two-and-a-half hour Concert performed by numerous nominees and other top West End stars as well as numbers from some of the year's biggest musicals - and of course, your big-name winners collecting their trophies to your cheers.

Both events are held in aid of this year’s adopted charity, Interact (part of  Stagecoach Charitable Trust), which provides disabled and disadvantaged children and young people with real opportunities to develop valuable skills for life through drama, movement and music workshops. Anyone wanting to support InterAct by making a donation please visit: //wos.im/TqCtSx

If you'd like to be at this year's Launch Party and get VIP access to the Concert, you can still sign up to be one of our limited number of Theatregoer Supporters. For more information, click the link below. For information on corporate sponsorship opportunities, call Terri Paddock on 020 7317 9103 or email [email protected].



Tagged in this Story